Job done

So I hung around in my “lunch break” for washing machine repairman and he just didn’t show. I gave him until 2pm and then I went “back to work” and would have ignored the door had he turned up late. If I had a “proper” job this would have happened anyway. However, he didn’t turn up late either.

I spent most of the day editing, but it was gig list day too. I tested the washer/dryer to make sure it still wasn’t drying (it wasn’t), and I walked the dog. I couldn’t hang out any washing because it rained all day.

I had to contact support at WordPress because I’ve been having a few problems regarding access, and I don’t know if it’s a recent computer update or if WP have a known issue. I’ve been able to get on intermittently, and it’s crashed halfway through a post. This has been happening since Monday. So I sent an email to Support, and they replied by the end of the day asking for more information. I don’t know yet how it’s working today, but if anyone’s been having problems getting on or commenting, please let me know so I can tell them. I’ve had trouble getting onto friends’ WP blogs too.

At the end of the day I was about to find another washing machine repairman when I got a phone call from original washing machine repairman’s buddy. His mate couldn’t make yesterday’s appointment (gee, you don’t say), but could he come himself instead, this morning at half nine? I said yes. It meant I’d have to have my breakfast around then because I need to treat this like a proper job and report for work as if I had to go out for work and be “at home” if I have someone coming. It’s too easy for me to think there’s no point starting anything if the day is going to be interrupted.

I started the day pottering with admin and hung 2 washloads on the line. (Fingers crossed it dries before the rain comes back.)

At 9:15am the washing machine repairman replacement turned up, 15 minutes early. He was gone 20 minutes later. The dryer had tripped both of its thermostat fuses. Everything else was fine and for a 6-year-old machine, it’s apparently in good health, which is particularly reassuring when we live in a very hard water area where lime-scale doesn’t just cling, it morphs into metallic-like sheets – easy to clean, though.

If anyone wants a white goods repairman, let me know. This chap will come highly recommended.

I’ve tested the dryer, and it’s working again. So I have those few things to put away. Then it’s more editing for me today, with one eye on the weather in case it rains. If I have time to nip out, I also want to get a packet of peas to sow. Apparently, I still have time and now I have a greenhouse, I don’t have to fill up all the windowsills in the house.

For tea I may finally try to make pizza …

4 thoughts on “Job done

    1. Thought I had to call him back when the cupboard under the sink was wet, but it turned out he’d just dislodged the waste pipe slightly and I just had to pop it back in.

      Like

Comments are closed.