How remiss of me … (list alert)

… I forgot to do this week’s to-do list yesterday. Oh, tut tut. (Scroll down.)

I slept in again this morning. I think it was due to a restless night with the animals all taking it in turns wanting to go out and come back in again. Who knows what all that was about?

I went out yesterday on one errand and ended up picking up a couple of things I’d struggled to find at the weekend. I had to go to a bargain basement to get my bog-standard bright blue A4 document wallets, and I had to go to a schoolwear shop to get my bog-standard bargain red sweatshirt. I couldn’t afford a lot but I needed both. Although the colours were personal choice I would have made do with whatever colour they had. I also finally picked up a jar of malt extract so I can make malt loaf.

When I got back I walked the dog and then it was work, work, work, and momentous decision time (which some on FB will have already seen).

I’ve decided not to pitch articles any more and just write what people ask me to write. The ideas-finding, market-matching, right-person-approaching, irresistible-query-letter-writing, etc, is simply too time-consuming for too little return, compared to all the other things I do. And, to be honest, I don’t enjoy it as much. I only have so much time in the day and I really am only one person (honestinjun). Something has to give.

Instead I’m going to be concentrating on the editing and proof-reading for the “day job” – and remember, these are full-length books. How long does it take you to read a book? Now stick a pen behind your ear and calculate again. And then imagine some of the work to be un-edited, un-proofed and un-polished. It’s time-consuming work, but I love it. And they pay me every week. That makes it a priority.

For my own work I’ll be researching or writing full-length books of my own, fiction and non-fiction, and short stories – and thinking of short-story anthologies. I’ll also still write fillers and make puzzles, because those have the highest return for the least time taken. And I’ll write anything that magazines and editors ask for, as providing something they’re already looking for is most of the battle.

I have a non-fiction book to be getting on with and a novel. I have to crack on with these so that I get my contract and advance for the 3 non-fictions,  because people are asking for a Marcie Craig sequel, and because I need to get the pub bombings one done in time for the next anniversary.

Hopefully that means the actual to-do list will get shorter, even though the time spent will still be the same. I’m not switching on the pc at the weekends at all now as I have too much to do away from the computer and it’s just a distraction.

For the rest of today I’m still editing a novel,  I have the dog to walk, I want to call the tax office, and I have my own work to do too, probably this evening again.

Here’s this week’s to-do list:

  • week-daily blog √√
  • week-daily comps √√
  • walks report √
  • bank + errands √
  • admin work (finance, diary) √
  • daily dog walk √
  • household chores
  • MY WORK every day √
  • edit historical novel #1
  • arrange household insurance
  • change mortgage direct debit
  • local Ramblers meeting
  • ALCS focus group meeting in Sheffield
  • proof-read non-fiction #1
  • weekly invoices
  • provide evidence of self-employment at job centre
  • drop off/pick up work
  • live music festival (?)
4 thoughts on “How remiss of me … (list alert)

  1. Carol

    Good luck, I’m sure you’ve made the right decision, but there needs to be some ‘fun’ in their also!

    Like

    1. I have fun too. I read, watch telly, play games on the Wii, walk the dog, go out for the day, go to gigs, go shopping (although mostly just window shopping at the moment), etc.

      Like

Comments are closed.