What did I do?

My first ever milk loaf.

For anyone living on a different planet, or just plain elsewhere recently, I had my first Do Diddle Day yesterday.

This is a new concept for me whereby I choose one day a month and write nothing in the diary, other than KEEP CLEAR.

Even on days off and at weekends I usually still have a full diary. I found the day off idea here.

I’m a diary freak, I really do love my diary and would be totally lost without it, and updating the diary is one of my favourite activities. I think I just like to see that I’m busy and, therefore, earning money. It was a real hardship to leave one day totally blank (other than KEEP CLEAR) and not plan anything for that day. But I did it.

I didn’t have any plans either, beyond if it’s nice I’ll do this and if it isn’t I’ll do that. But even then it was half-hearted. I did think that if it was nice I’d get some washing hung out and take the dog on a nice, long walk on a day out. But that’s as far as I got.

On Monday evening I was shattered and so decided to start my day off early in a nice long bubble bath. I gave each of the animals a good talking to before bedtime and, bless them, they all let me sleep in until 9am.

The weather wasn’t particularly sunny, but I thought it would be a dry day, so I did put some washing through and I did hang it on the line.

And then I did some baking. I baked 2 milk loaves and a fruity malt loaf, both firsts for me, and both worked out very nice and very fine.

The loaf on the left was baked in a flexible “tin”, which expanded when the bread did.

I bake in the oven, not in a machine, and the dough was left to rise on the kitchen table as it was nice and warm.

The milk loaves are probably the most successful white loaves I’ve ever baked, and I’ll definitely do them again.

The sun did break through and I did take the dog for a walk, via the letterbox, as I had invoices to post. (Hurrah!)

The rest of the day I read. I finished reading THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE and started THE GIRL WHO KICKED THE HORNETS’ NEST, both by Stieg Larsson, and I watched the Swedish version of THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO on DVD. I also watched a new drama on BBC2.

I didn’t even cook tea as I’d made a dinner on Sunday and cooked enough for 2 days. Yesterday I had the second one.

And that was my day off. Next month I may do a bit more or I may do a bit less. OR, I may do exactly the same. Or I may do diddley squat. It certainly worked and I do feel recharged.

During the night Rufus started barking at about 2am. The cats were both out so we went to let them in and I could smell Tom cat. That’s probably what disturbed the dog. Two hours later Domino was asking to go out again. And two hours after that Rufus started to bark again. That was quite a disturbed night.

A crumbly but nice first ever malt loaf.

Throughout today I’m going to wake the dog at various intervals, see how he likes it …

Today then, and for the rest of the week, I’m proofing or editing books. But I’m itching to do some proper writing of my own too. Fingers crossed …

4 thoughts on “What did I do?

Comments are closed.