Late start

The animals may have very graciously let me have a good night’s sleep on Monday, but they’ve made up for it ever since. Either the cats want to go out, or the dog finds something to bark at, or the cats play with each other and start the dog barking, or the dog wants out, or a cat’s being sick. I don’t think I’ve had a proper night’s sleep since Monday.

It caught up with me this morning and I shamefully slept in.

This means that I’m several hours late on everything. It means I won’t get to drop off and pick up any work later. It means tonight I’ll still be working so I won’t be able to go out. And it means I may be doing my shopping at midnight. Thank goodness for 24-hour supermarkets.

I do have some good news to report, though. I finally sorted out all of the CATCH THE RAINBOW material (again!), and it’s all in once place. I’m going to read through what I have, update my notes – which will become my outline – as I go along, and carry on from where I left off.

Keep an eye on the little wordometer in the top right-hand corner of the sidebar. It went up slightly overnight. 😉

I’m almost at 19,000 words so don’t really want to go back to the beginning and start again. I’ve started to keep a novel journal, or a pocket notebook where I record how I’m feeling, how the work’s going, and anything else that needs to go into a journal (lots of famous authors use them, apparently, and often refer to them to give themselves a boost when they’re working on the next one). I’m writing approximately 100 words per day into this journal and it’s a nice little warm-up exercise that doesn’t take all day.

Yesterday I searched for a daylight bulb to put in my desk lamp so that I can work in the dark corner of my bedroom. I searched through 4 archive boxes that still need sorting after the office was completed, and I found some index cards.

I’ve never used index cards for plotting, but I know a few people who do. So I selected a pack of plain white and a pack of assorted. I think the coloured ones will be used for things like blue = character, pink = scene setting, green = timeline, etc. They’re on the corner of my desk. I keep looking at them, but I don’t intend to use them this time out. I may use them for the next one, though.

Do you use index cards? How do they work for you?

I also found my old office clock from when I worked for a living. So I put a battery in that and it’s now prominently placed on my desk where I can see it. I already have the computer clock, but when the computer’s not on, I use a Venetian glass clock that really should be downstairs and I can’t read properly anyway because it has 4 glass bubbles on it instead of any numbers.

The problem with my old office clock is that it ticks. Loudly. And the “office” is in the corner of the bedroom. If that becomes a nuisance during the night, it’ll have to go out until the next morning. The Venetian glass clock can go downstairs.

I also found my mini dictionary, my mini thesaurus and a pocket dictionary of English usage (grammar). All three of these small books will now accompany me around the house whether I’m writing or proof-reading or editing. The great big heavy versions can stay on my desk. This is much better than me keep having to check spellings and grammar via the internet, especially when I only have my phone to hand.

The daylight bulb wasn’t in any of the boxes, but I remembered I’d put it with other light bulbs in the kitchen. So that was all nicely useful.

So, I’m feeling organised and motivated. Now I just need to crack on with work.

Have a great weekend. I’m going to see my mom and dad.

8 thoughts on “Late start

  1. Carol

    Have a good weekend. I’m not great at planning yet but I know a few who use different methods – excel spreadsheets, flow charts or different coloured sticky notes. I think I would need some sort of chart for plotting but I can see the advantage of index cards for character notes. The notebook sounds a great idea…lets hope this ‘famous’ author makes it work for her…couldn’t resist it! ;0)

    Like

  2. Gosh, reading all that makes me feel sort of guilty. I seem to fail at a writing routine. I don’t know if it’s because I have young kids or what, but I just can’t quite do it. I now do have a writing diary… as in, I have a diary which is a week to view (It’s a Mslexia one… so I feel good and writery about that), plus I bought a A day to a page, with appointments, so it has times, so I block it out. When I’ve got to go to work, block out my running time… block out the annoying things that get in the way of writing, so i can see when I have free time to write. So I’m sort of getting there.

    I don’t use index cards… I sort of put everything in Onenote. Whether that keeps me organised is another thing. I’m trying to tidy my desk. It always feels so cluttered 😦

    Hope you catch up on your sleep. I’m up early this weekend to go to work. So I’m tired and not much writing gets done the weekends I work 😦 Hence I’m having an hour of reading blogs… and I had yours open from the other day 😀 And look, I’ve commented! (Actually if I read I blog, I 99.9% of the time leave a comment). Sorry… this is a bit of a long one.

    Like

    1. Hey, thanks for dropping by and saying hello. 🙂

      You manage your running routine perfectly fine. If you wanted to organise writing time, could you apply the same principles? What’s your reward for making time to run? What could be your reward for making time to write? (As well, not instead.)

      Like

      1. Diane,

        My reward for running is that I get to eat (roughly) what I want plus I have lost a lot of weight. I try to do the same with writing, but it’s amazing how a chore or something/someone will get in the way with that. I do try to block out time in the diary now for it, admittedly. I suppose I feel guilty when I don’t do it. Like today, I met a friend for coffee, when I could have spent the morning writing… but I haven’t seen my friend in ages, and obviously the two of us have to meet when convenient for the both of us. I do tend to try and do most of my editing/writing related activities in the evening if all else fails during the day.

        Like

      2. I expect you’ll get there, now that you’re blocking out the time. You make time to do the running, and you get a great reward. You made time to meet your friend, and the catch-up was the reward. You’ll work out something that fits the writing in too. Good luck, and let me know.

        Like

Comments are closed.