The drains man cometh

… and this is another flying visit.

The drains man showed up at about 1:30pm – not bad, considering it was a 12 – 4 slot. The drains are fine. He checked the main sewer, he rodded the main drain, he took pictures, he had a good look around.

Yes, I have water in my lounge. Yes, I have damp in my lounge. No, it’s not due to drains. It may be due to the water table rising, and a little of it may be due to my plastic front door frame needing a couple of drainage holes. There was nothing drain man could do.

He agreed that the imaginary house brick should not have been wedged into the rainwater gulley at the back. He was happy that the back was fine so long as this house brick didn’t show up again. If it does, I’m to report it. The rainwater gully serves all of our houses and not just my neighbour’s.

He also thinks that the local council are wrong to dispute my rainwater downpipe at the front of the house as there is no other way to take the storm water away from the property; the street, village and borough are full of like downpipes; and embedding them under the footpath is just as bad as having them discharging across the pavement, it’s just less of a slip hazard.

But the drains at my house are fine.

He thinks there may be a small leak on the water main. He thinks there is underground water beneath my house. He’s referred it back to the water authority.

Meanwhile, the smell of damp continues to permeate my living accommodation; my lounge floor continues to puddle, rain or no rain.

Next!

Here are 2 more writerly goals from the start of the year:

  • Get that book commissioned and started by end of June (desired).

This has been moved to September.

  • Proof-read 1 book every week for publisher (desired).

YES, big fat tick against this one.

I said it was another flyer …

6 thoughts on “The drains man cometh

  1. andy fowler

    Have you ruled out any mains water pipes running beneath your house? Just saying as my last property had slight perforation in a cold water feed running under the lounge. Caused me no end of problems, had to dig down through 3 feet of concrete to fix the darn leak.

    Like

    1. He had a listen to the mains water, and thinks there may be a trickle, or it could have just been someone running a tap. The water board will have to investigate that when they come. It’s on the list. 🙂

      Like

    1. Yorkshire Water should be back within 7 days, but they do have real emergencies at the moment. Mine is really just a puddle, albeit a smelly nuisance. xx

      Like

Comments are closed.