Stupidly busy

I could have quite happily stayed in bed for most of this week feeling sorry for myself and my poorly throat, but I had work to do. LOTS of work to do. So I dragged my sorry ass out of that bed and just got on with it.

Monday turned out to be another writing frenzy. I worked on a short story, a comedy sketch, a walks report and a reader’s letter, and over the course of the day I wrote a total of (drum roll please …) 5,891 words. Phew! That’s a lot considering I was also editing a novel. For me, at least.

I can’t remember what time I went back to bed, but it was probably close to midnight. Then yesterday I worked solidly all day. All. Day. Editing. And I finished at 1am.

This morning, with the dog keeping quiet all night and Holly asking to go out again at about 2am, I slept in. Domino usually wakes me up at about 5am, sometimes 4am, but this time she didn’t – or maybe she tried and I was comatose. Rufus usually finds something to bark at during the night, but this time he didn’t – or maybe he did …

Today is all about electronic stuff. Electronic edits, updating the gig list, catching up on online stuff … and, therefore, distractions. I’m due at a Ramblers’ meeting this evening, but just lately I’ve been working so hard I forget to check the clock and it’s been an empty belly that’s brought me back to the land of the living. So I may forget to go, or I may forget to stop and get ready to go. Oh yes, and eat.

I’ll see how today goes. It looks like a nice one, although we had a bit of a breeze overnight judging by the position of the outdoor kennel. Either that or Holly had a cat fight. The cats use the water barrel and the kennel as launch-pads for take-off and sometimes the kennel gets moved. It’s only plastic.

But first … yoga. I’ve not done any for 2 days. I also have to get to the post office before last collection, so that will be the dog walk. I may have to set an alarm …

2 thoughts on “Stupidly busy

  1. Hope you’ve remembered to breathe…or maybe you didn’t. Hope you find time to relax…or maybe you can’t. Hope you are feeling better…really.

    Like

Comments are closed.