Work bursts

This timer would be perfect in my kitchen.

Or bursts of work. Fifteen-minute bursts to be exact, with 5-minute bursts between to do whatever the hell I want … But I’ve been starting back to work again.

This is how busy I’ve been. I’ve not made it to bed before 1am all week, sometimes 2am. For the past 2 days I’ve been on auto-edit. And it was yesterday that I had a brain murmur and fetched the kitchen timer.

Sometimes I do writing sprints and that’s when I usually use the timer. I set it for 10 or 15 or 20 minutes and have a mad writerly dash. Or I’ll set it for an hour and keep my head down for that hour … only that last one wasn’t working because I keep getting distracted.

So I decided on the 15 minute-bursts instead. Fifteen minutes of pure work, no checking emails, no watching Facebook, no playing games, no reading blogs. No anything until my 15 minutes are done. Then 5 minutes when I can do any of those things, or even nip to the loo or make a cuppa. Then back to the 15 minutes again.

And I’m on the homeward stretch. I WILL finish this job today. I WILL deliver this job today. I WILL  invoice this job today.

And then the weekend starts.

Tonight I think I have a hot date, tomorrow I know I have a hot date, and on Sunday I’m going to have the hot date I should have had last Sunday. That’s a rock gig this evening in Pontefract, a writing festival tomorrow  in Harrogate, and a visit to see me mom and dad on Sunday in Solihull.

Have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “Work bursts

  1. Dray

    Nope, I thought. What a daft idea. Timed bursts? Not having a cow (man) I used the missus, who just happened to be handy.

    It works, by golly, because by working in bursts it prevents me descending into absolute drivel I have to go back and edit later. Cheers for that!

    Love that bit ” or even nip to the loo”. 🙂 It’s like – nope, I insist on finishing this first…

    Like

    1. Ha ha ha, Dray. Always glad to be of use. 🙂 I like writing sprints so I thought I might also like work bursts, and if it’s working … 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.