The loss adjuster cometh

Today’s appointment was with the insurance loss adjuster for the flood damage in the lounge. He seemed a very nice man, although he *is* working for the insurance company. He thinks it’s only cosmetic, they only need to worry about redecorating, a new carpet and maybe re-pointing the front doorstep.

Obviously he can’t commit until he’s (a) made his report, and (b) seen the results from the damp company, but he was very positive and sympathetic.

Meanwhile the dehumidifier continues to drone in the living room and it’s like a hot house in there. I can’t open the door or window and when lady neighbour came round earlier, she couldn’t bear it for longer than 10 minutes. I don’t mind, I don’t mind the heat at all, but Rufus doesn’t like it and he keeps barking at the dehumidifier and the rolled-back carpet. If his ball goes anywhere near any of it, he just stands there and shouts. Loudly. Bless him.

Today I’m editing a new historical novel. Already I’m reading it and saying “wow” and I keep forgetting I’m supposed to be stylising it. I think that’s always a good thing.

Tomorrow I have a Diane Do(es) Diddle(y Squat) Day (Diane Do Diddle Day). I don’t know what I’ll do with it yet, I may go out. But the phones will be off (apart from for emergencies), the computer will be off, and the email will have an out-of-office auto-reply set.

Remember, I got this idea from Peter Jones’s “boxing day” with How To Do Everything And Be Happy, and so far it seems to be working a treat.

What would you do with your Do Diddle Day? And don’t forget, it can’t be something that needs any kind of planning.

See you on the other side.

 

4 thoughts on “The loss adjuster cometh

Comments are closed.