A routine that works

During my self-imposed hiatus from all things internet, I managed to come up with a routine that seems to be working.

Mornings are my time; afternoons are everyone else’s time; evenings are home time.

The first job of the day after breakfast is reading, whatever I’m reading is up to me but it’s usually work-related reading.

For the next hour or so it’s CATCH THE RAINBOW time. I won a face-to-face 1-to-1 presentation with a top agent in September and I need a polished presentation, partial and 7-minute pitch in time for that.

Then it’s short works – whichever draft(s) of however many short stories, articles, fillers or letters I’m working on.

After an hour of lunch I do my editing or proof-reading or writing for whichever client is currently top of the pile. I read during my lunch break, but this is usually a novel.

Last job of the day is walk dog. Sometimes I do my daily Yoga first thing; sometimes I do it before or after the dog walk. The Yoga is currently at 15 minutes but increases a little more each week. I want to get up to 30 minutes daily Yoga.

At the end of the day, if I’ve done everything I’m supposed to, then I get to play on the internet. Write tomorrow’s blog, catch up on FB, play any games, enter any competitions, buy any books, order any DVDs, or just surf.

Twice a week, in the evening, I do an hour-long exercise DVD. Once a week, on a Saturday, I do an hour-long Yoga DVD.

Once a fortnight I visit my parents.

In between I clean the house, do housework, washing, ironing, baking, gardening, cooking, dishes, etc. And in between that I relax with a book or a film or something on the telly or a game – NOT on the pc – or we go for a longer walk, or I go shopping.

I take Sundays off, regardless of whether or not it’s a parent day. I also take the 26th of each month off with no plans to do anything but just see how it goes or what I feel like.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve got a few itty-bitty jobs done, like change a lightbulb here or there, or repair the doorstop to keep the sand from spilling out, or sew a clothing repair. Things that need doing but never seem to get done.

Because my schedule is quite tight now, I’m limiting my computer time. I’m still working and writing in timed bursts, but the bursts are longer now than they were when I started.

Do you have a routine that works?

10 thoughts on “A routine that works

  1. Carol

    NO!!
    My life is not in my control at the moment, but your routine sounds good and one day I hope to follow suit. Good luck.

    Like

    1. I often find at busy, hectic or stressful times that structuring the day in this way helps me get through it. Things as simple as “get out of bed”, “have breakfast” and “wash dishes” on the to do list and ticked as they are done also help move me along – plus all of those lovely ticks add motivation.

      Like

    1. This time I spent a few days seeing what came naturally and when, such as meal times. Then I spent time doing some work to see how long each job took me. That gave me breakfast, dinner and tea with 4 hours in between each, plus 4 hours before bed time. The Yoga and the dog walk take an hour, an exercise DVD takes an hour, and I know I can write 1,000 words (ish) in an hour. Fillers and readers’ letters, and plans and outlines for short material take apx 30 minutes, so I know I can do 2 of those in an hour. And then seeing what time I had left in which to do other things, like plough through an edit or a proof-read.

      Suck it and see how long tasks take, which tasks need to be done in order to earn a living, and which tasks you’d like to do in order to enjoy life too. Take it from there and write everything in pencil (with an eraser on the end), or do it in a computer file.

      I have an A5 desk diary with half-hour appointment slots and I fill those in.

      Like

  2. Carol

    I’m good at keeping the mundane household tasks running, life in the house goes along reasonably like clockwork. I’m not good at scheduling in the things I want to do, something always seems to give and its generally the writing, possibly because it’s the ‘easy’ one to put off. BAD ME!

    Like

    1. I’m rubbish at doing household chores. If I was rich I’d have a woman who does.

      Try to have just one hour of each day that’s your time. You were doing that by 6:30am before. Can you do it again?

      Like

Comments are closed.