Diet, fitness, weight loss/gain interlude

I’ve been in some back pain these past few days. Well, hips and pelvis really. I think it was doing 2 walks at the weekend, both of which included hills. I really don’t do hills, even little ones. They make me grumpy. And they hurt my glutes.

Yesterday morning I did a bit of stretch manipulation and felt one hip pop … sounds like some kind of dance move … For a whole day I had no pain in that hip, just a very slight dull ache. By this morning it was hurting again. I feel as though if I can pop it every day, and if I can pop the other side, that might do the trick. Maybe I need to see a chiropractor …

Anyway, the upshot of this whingeing is that I’ve not done any exercise since Monday.

A couple of weeks ago I started to replace artificial sweetener with sugar because I thought sugar would be better for me, and I replaced skimmed milk with semi-skimmed milk because it keeps better in the sunshine if it’s left on the step too long.

Within days, despite losing 5 inches off various parts of my body, I noticed a weight increase, and at quite an alarming rate. I dropped back to the artificial sweetener and the weight gain slowed down – but there was still a gain. On a daily basis, just not as much.

This week, after a full weekend of activity I thought the weight might start to creep down again. But it didn’t. And On Tuesday I was the heaviest I have been in my life. In. My. Life. And I’m not just going by the scales. Even my fattest fat jeans were tight and uncomfortable.

I don’t want to go back to skimmed milk because of the keeping factor, or not, although it is cooling down again now.  It’s far better for custards, blancmanges and Dream Toppings than skimmed anyway. So I had a good think about what else I was doing that I hadn’t done before. And I’ve been grazing. All afternoon after dinner, and all evening after tea. Right up to bedtime.

I’ve not even been hungry but gained some kind of hypnotic comfort from shovelling food into my gob, be it handfuls of raisins, handfuls of sweets, whole bars of chocolate, cakes, biscuits, cheese and crackers, bread and jam, pickled eggs or onions, or Farley’s rusks with hot milk – though that latter one does help me sleep through the night.

Not all at once, mind …

For the past two days I’ve forced myself not to eat after 9pm (target is 8pm) and I’ve asked myself if I’m really hungry before having a biscuit or a piece of cake with a cup of tea. I’ve replaced some of the cake with a small bunch of grapes or a banana and I’ve even gone to bed earlier.

This morning the weight dropped – without the exercise. So, I’m hoping that with the exercise, and if I can stop this mindless grazing, I’ll be able to keep the semi-skimmed milk.

The Yoga is up to 50 minutes a day – when I do it. I also do exercise DVDs twice a week and the dog gets at least one good walk every week on top of his daily walks. I’m now onto a proper level of Yoga, the first one in my series of 4. The Wii is redundant.

So, Monday, Wednesday, Friday and alternate Saturdays I’m going to do an hour of Yoga. On Tuesday I’ll do one exercise DVD and on Thursday I’ll do a different one so I don’t get bored. I don’t know how long to stay on the level 1 Yoga before moving up, but I’ll see how it goes. They have beginner and advanced poses per level, so maybe there’s something to aspire to. Weekends are big dog walk days, Saturday or Sunday depending on whether or not I’m visiting parents.

If the weight doesn’t come down again after that lot, I may visit the doctor and insist on a blood test. I don’t believe that a little bit of fat in the milk has caused me to get this heavy in such a short time.

On the work front – yesterday was a day of building a basic package to respond to the job boards with, and add to as necessary depending on the job. There are some good jobs going, some of my bids have been declined as too high but others have come back with a favourable response, so I can’t be that expensive after all. It’s made me realise how cheaply I’ve been working recently, though, and there was me thinking I was doing all right.

Over the next few weeks I’ll be building my workload at a more respectable pay rate and easing off on the cheap stuff. Without burning any bridges, though. You never know where people end up following job shuffles, etc.

My time management is finally balancing out with wages at least due in every week, even if they’re not always paid on time. Perhaps that will be my next project, once the minimum pay one has settled down.

And I finally have leisure time built into my week. I was going to try and go to the pictures every so often, but instead I enrolled with LOVEFiLM, initially on their new streaming-only initiative. But when I saw a lot of the things I wanted to see were only on DVD, I switched to 2 DVDs a month, one at a time.

My one month FREE trial is just ending, but on Friday, voila, my phone provider sent me a gift, although they probably sent it to a few of us, granted – 12 months FREE membership to LOVEFiLM’s streaming-only package. And because I was already a member, I was able to apply the credit to my account.

So I’ve upgraged to their streaming-only package plus unlimited DVDs, one at a time, and I don’t have to pay anything for another 7 months, by which time more material will be available to stream and I may not need the DVDs. What a bargain.

So, in all, a good week so far. How’s your week going?

8 thoughts on “Diet, fitness, weight loss/gain interlude

  1. I think I’m tired just reading about all that!

    I must say, from the days I worked in the food business, I wouldn’t touch artificial sweeteners with a bargepole, but then you know full well I have other funny dietary quirks, too!

    All sounds positive, though.

    Like

  2. I’ve just started a health kick, for just the same reasons as you, I’ve started going to the gym 2 a week and walking for about 20 mins on the other days. I’ve also increased my fruit and veg intake and cut out cakes etc…… but it’s never easy. Good luck with your endeavours, and look forward to getting an update soon. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ah, the weight loss/weight gain roller coaster. After my hysterectomy, I went back to exercising and was eating pretty good. I felt great. Lost almost 5 pounds (incredibly hard to do with my body!). Then I got a cyst on my remaining ovary (I kept this ovary so I didn’t go into menopause) and BAM, I gained 7 pounds in two days. Not even joking. Because I was in so much pain, I didn’t exercise (really couldn’t) and of course, the weight gain stayed. So frustrating. I think with me it’s my hormones, at this point. The surgery and all of that probably screwed me up for awhile, and I don’t know when they’ll balance themselves out. I exercised at Curves twice this week (will go again tonight) and have been pretty darn good with my eating this week. I am determined to lose at least the 10 pounds I gained back over the past year because I felt SO much better and my clothes fit much better, too.

    Like

    • You’ve been having a rough ride with your health. I hope they sort you out sooner rather than later and that you can get back to a normal healthy happy weight.

      Like

Comments are closed.