My new obsession

So I’ve been watching the job boards for a few weeks, I’ve been learning from my friends across the pond (waves across pond), and I finally took the plunge. I created a profile, a CV, a job history (ish), a standard initial response that can be manipulated to suit each job, I calculated my minimum rates per job or hour or 1,000 words, and I browsed the boards until I thought I’d got a good feel.

And then I started submitting proposals. That was really scary.

I’m not bidding for everything, I don’t want to go mad and get a name for myself. But I’ve been selective, bidding for those that appear to be genuine writing, editing and proof-reading jobs, those that are willing to pay at least a half-decent wage, and those I can do without too much stress – I spent about 2 hours calculating how much I should earn by writing a series of travel guides, but they wanted 360,000 words altogether by the middle of December and there’s no way I’d be able to do that, so I skipped that one in the end.

I started with just 4: two declined my bid due to being too high; two asked for more information. Apparently, 2 bites so early on is actually quite good.

And then I started to bid for another odd one here or there.

One job got pulled, two were awarded elsewhere.

Ha! And then it became an obsession – checking every 5 minutes to see who else had bid; refreshing my messages in case one had come in; making sure my bid was still in the list … and so on.

Yesterday I had 2 jobs come in via the traditional route and I wondered if perhaps I’d been a bit hasty in looking elsewhere. But I reminded myself that it’s not good to have too many eggs in the same basket. I still need to spread myself around a bit.

And so I decided that along with daily blog, daily comps, daily dog walk, etc, I should also have daily job board scan – and RESTRICT myself to the time spent.

I’m still waiting on the two that asked for more information, and I’m still waiting on another two that haven’t closed yet. But the first and only job I bid for this morning has come back very positive. Very positive indeed.

And now I have to go out there and find some stories.

WAHEY!

Also today I have a novel to finish proof-reading and get sent back to the client.  I have an appointment at 5:15pm. And I’ll probably do my shopping.

In other news, I’ve booked an appointment to take my back to see my GP – next Thursday teatime.

No plans for the weekend. The weather is supposed to change on Monday so I’ll see where I end up taking the dog on Sunday.

Y’all have a good one – I’m off story-hunting.

2 thoughts on “My new obsession

Comments are closed.