She shoots, she scores

I had a chat with the editor who came back so positively to my job board bid on Friday and we exchanged a few emails. Then I made my first pitch … and she accepted it! So there’s an extra job for this week, and if I can come up with the goods on a regular basis, a new regular gig is mine.

I took the dog for a walk around the fields on Friday and when we got home he was acting a bit strange. I’d seen something maggot-like in the corner of his eye and thought I’d got rid of it, and before I left for my appointment, he’d settled down on the settee for a kip. I didn’t do the shopping on the way back because I wanted to make sure he was all right. He was fine.

Friday evening I crashed out in front of Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, my current DVD from LOVEFiLM. Still not as good as the first, but I think that’s always going to be a hard act to follow. However – in my opinion – better than the next two. I understand they’re filming No 5 next year.

On Saturday morning Rufus started to act a bit strange again and when I looked, what I thought had looked like a maggot before was there again, in the corner of his eye. It turned out to be a long grass seed and it had probably been swimming around in his eye all night. I got it out and he was a lot brighter.

We walked up to the village shop and back on Saturday as I was working still and it was very warm, and yesterday, because I was still working, we drove to a nearby park for a longer walk without the longer drive. I popped out to do some shopping before they closed at 4pm and discovered that throughout the Olympic and Paralympic Games they’ve been open 24 hours. That finished on Sunday and, so far, our supermarket isn’t opting to lobby to continue.

Aside from work I also emptied the washing basket – and in so doing, filled up the ironing basket … Oh dear, must try harder with that one. Both lines were constantly full taking advantage of our last push of summer. The weather has changed today, but there’s no rain so far.

Some of our farmers have been working at night with arc lights and all over the weekend to get the harvest in before today’s rain. It’s very quiet around the outside of the village today, so at least I think they did it.

At yesterday’s weigh-in I was delighted to see that I’ve lost 2½lb in weight and 2½” from various points around my body – mostly the hips and thighs. This is good. I can keep the skimmed milk – so far.

This week I restrict my time on the job boards to just 30 minutes per day. I’m doing a lot in 30-minute bursts this week, so the kitchen timer is back on the desk next to me.

Today I have the story I pitched on Friday to start, a short story for my favourite market to start, a book to send back to the client, a DVD to send back (today’s walk will be to the post office), a walks report to write, and amendments to the first historical fiction I’ve been working on.

This evening I start my 1-hour Yoga sessions. I can’t do it in the morning, I’m not bendy enough yet.

2 thoughts on “She shoots, she scores

  1. Carol

    Glad Rufus’s eye turned out to be nothing too serious. Eyes are one thing I’m a bit squeamish about. I haven’t seen the 4th Pirates yet, somehow I keep missing it. I loved the first, enjoyed the second but thought the third was just weird. How can you lose 2 1/2 lbs so quickly? It takes me all my effort to lose 2oz! Good luck with the job boards.

    Like

    1. I always lose the most quite quickly, I think it’s when I stop the pigging between meals and midnight snacking. It settles out at about half a pound a week.

      Like

Comments are closed.