What day is it?

It’s Wednesday. Ah, so that means it’s bin day – although that’s strictly Tuesday as the bins have to be out by 6am and I don’t even know what 6am is, but they can still come back in today. And it’s gig list day. And it’s Dallas on the telly day – although that may not last very long if the main reason I’m watching (aside from curiosity) ends up leaving.

Wednesday is also a Yoga day, and even though that worked me a bit on Monday, I’m looking forward to doing that today. Shock, horror … Holly was funny the other evening. Throughout the routine she washed herself, but she was mesmerised by the slide-show they used for the relaxation part at the end and ended up curling up and falling to sleep. Rufus thought it was a big game, as usual. I really need to break him of climbing all over me when I’m on the floor.

It’s the second Wednesday of the month, so do I go to our local parish meeting this evening or do I bob along to one of our spiritualist churches that holds services every Wednesday? One is at 6pm, or it could be at 6:30pm, they weren’t sure when I asked them … the other is at 7pm. I want to go to parish meetings to find out more about the village; I want to go along to services because of work. Decisions, decisions – no doubt work will come first.

When I work every day of the week I lose track of time, I forget what day I’m on. This is one reason I take the weekends, when I can, for definition. Another reason is to do all the chores I don’t get time to do in the week. Another is just to recharge. Sometimes I have to glance at the calendar on my laptop or phone to remind me what day it is, and sometimes I check the telly magazine – and then kick myself if I missed something yesterday.

And it’s a big reason I love the diary, but if I don’t have it near to hand I forget to do jobs that are scheduled in for that day too.

I don’t want to get into the frame of mind that every day’s the same. I think that would bore me rigid. And it would be a clue that old age is creeping in – I’m not ready for old age yet.

How do you define your days if you’re not in a 9-5 Mon-Fri (or other) job? (I make mine a 9-5 Mon-Fri job, but then there’s often overtime.)

6 thoughts on “What day is it?

  1. I only work on days beginning with a “T”, and then I try very hard, to make sure I do something different on each other day. However, my mother, wears a certain colour clothing on certain days πŸ˜‰ so Mondays are always black. – but then she does have a very large wardrobe of clothes.

    Like

  2. I suppose that having an external definition of structure helps pin you down to follow the routines of the nine to five brigade you have to adhere to some extent. But you are free to define your own structures within theirs.

    Don’t ask me to repeat that. I couldn’t πŸ™‚

    But you’re quite right. You’re free to define your own freedom now you’ve earned it. But, motivation within that freedom. Bit of a bugger, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, I can define my own freedom and working hours, but outside constraints, such as bin collections and TV schedules, do still dictate. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I rarely work at weekends, but that’s usually because my other half’s hogging the pc! Finally getting a new lead for the lap top could change all that. So perhaps I’ll be avoiding PC World, then…

    Like

Comments are closed.