Seven things

I’m plodding through work steadily this week and getting everything done. I’ve had the commissioned story formally accepted, so there’s a lovely payment on its lovely way to me. Another one …

… I’m currently owed quite a bit of money, from several different sources. I’m waiting for a large tax rebate, I’m waiting for a healthy BACs payment, I’m waiting for a decent cheque from one magazine, another from another magazine, and a small one from another client.

I have good work in progress, I’ve delivered to one client already this week, have a job from a new client I’m working on, and several jobs from the lovely bread-and-butter client also in progress. There will be at least another invoice out at the end of this week. (Hurrah!) I also have plenty of work in, waiting for me to start.

The only thing wrong with this picture is the money owed.

I’ve come a long way in quite a short time in that I’m earning fairly decent and regular wages now. But rather than have x-amount owed and x-amount in progress, I also want and need x-amount in the bank as well. This will be my next goal – as far as it’s within my control.

The joys of self-employment, eh? And the joys of being on your own. Although I quite like being solely responsible for myself and my pets. It means I don’t have to ask anyone’s permission for anything, and it means when it goes well, I did it myself.

Yesterday evening, on a whim, I baked a bread pudding. I had some bread that had gone dry quite quickly and didn’t want to throw it away so soon. So I made a bread pudding – and very nice it is too. There are still 3 portions left.

I did the shopping yesterday too, which I hadn’t got around to at the weekend. And yesterday’s study was writing features so I picked a couple of magazines up to study. Today’s study is Teeline again.

My friend Devon, from Ink In My Coffee, has tapped me for “Seven Things About Me”. Thank you! Please nip across and say hi, if you haven’t already. She’s a great motivation to me,  a very busy freelance.

Most people know a lot about me, but here are a few things you may not know:

  1. I can roll my tongue
  2. I was trained to sing alto in a choir
  3. I can play Chopsticks on the piano
  4. I used to be in the Boys Brigade
  5. I can say tongue-twisters
  6. I’m allergic to skin products
  7. I can speak French, I can read German, and I can proof-read Dutch

I nominate …

  1. Teresa Morgan at The Wittering Woman
  2. Melissa Marsh at Writing With Style
  3. Dan Bohmer at Nine and a Half Hours Ahead, recently home safe from Afghanistan
  4. “Wheelie” Dray at Stroke Survivor
  5. Martin Hodges at Square Sunshine
  6. Steve Page at Life of a Fifty-Something Yorkshireman, and
  7. Manty over at Him, Her and Us

Link back to the person who nominated you, tell us seven things about you, and nominate another seven.

8 thoughts on “Seven things

  1. Blimey you are cooking with gas at the moment. I’ve only just realized you’ve moved to WordPress – see I’m not cooking with gas at the moment !!
    I’m going to sign up for your updates right now !!
    twiggy

    Like

  2. jackie brown

    Congratulations on yet another interesting blog post, Diane. I think I’ll have to start a public blog alongside the private one because I’d love to answer to ‘7 Things About Me’ challenges etc.

    Incidentally, I can roll my tongue but I can’t roll my aars (r’s not arse). I was in the school choir but had to resort to miming once my voice changed from soprano to not quite alto. (Not sure what my pitch is now but I can sing in tune with Annie Lennox, Alison Moyet, Kiki Dee and Marlene Dietrich.) The only things I can play on the piano are ‘God Save The Queen’, one half of ‘Chopsticks’ and a composition called ‘Bluebells in the Wood’ that I made up when I was about 5. I’ve never been a member of the Boys’ Brigade but I was briefly a Brownie. I can say tongue-twisters. I’m allergic to some skin products and will never use that expensive stuff Jane Fonda advertised for ‘mature skin’ ever again. The way it may my face burn and tingle, I assume the ‘tightening’ ingredient was the stuff they use in haemorroid (piles) cream. Also, anything with mint or tea tree oil in it is a no no. Languages – I can speak schoolgirl French but can read it better. I can understand written German, Spanish, Portugese, Italian, Icelandic, Greek, Aussie Strine and a few more. I can speak basic Welsh and the best decision I ever made as a teenager was to take Latin; it’s been one of the most useful languages I have ever learned.

    You most definitely have to sort out getting your payments on time. Set up automatic invoicing with a time penalty clause.

    Like

    1. Gosh, thank you. I didn’t realise your blog was private, but that would explain why I couldn’t find it.

      My first line was a mistake, I’m afraid. I started to say I can’t roll my Rs but as most people already know that I changed it to I can roll my tongue … but I forgot to take out the ‘t … duh. I’ve changed it now.

      Like

  3. Thanks for the tag! And you sound sooo busy as a freelance writer. I’m in the process of separating/divorcing – whatever you want to call it – and I do envy you managing on your own. Well done. I can’t wait for some independence, yet I will have two children to feed. Eeek!

    Like

Comments are closed.