It was a dark and rainy day …

… and three animals refused to go out to play. This resulted in them all tormenting each other and vying for attention when I’m trying to proof-read a book on psychology. Even now, as I write this, Rufus is licking my hand …

I wish the postman would hurry up. At least then the dog would look out of the window for a while. And I might get another cheque … but I shan’t hold my breath on either count.

It’s so cold at the moment I’m huddled in front of the gas fire in the living room. It’s easy to proof-read sat on the settee, and the laptop has currently come downstairs so I can post this. Thin and short t-shirts have been replaced by longer, more substantial ones; lightweight sweatshirts replaced with heavier ones and woolly jumpers. Socks? I didn’t take my socks off all “summer”. Now the thin cotton ones have been replaced by the woollier ones.

I’m working in 30-minute bursts. This stops me getting too bored and encourages me to get up, move around, exercise the old back. At 5pm I’ll jump in the car with Rufus and walk him around a small park nearby. This evening it’s a Yoga evening – for an hour at least.

I don’t mind the rain, I really don’t. So long as it’s not coming up through my living room floor or threatening to flood my kitchen, I quite like it. I find it therapeutic both to work in and to walk in. It is dark, though. And it is cold.

Tomorrow I was supposed to go to London to see an agent. Because so many payments to me have been held up, including that really hefty one from the tax office, I cant afford the rail fare.

I won 2 tickets to see Barnsley FC v Birmingham City, so that was a nice consolation, until I realised it was Birmingham City v Barnsley, and I can’t really justify the petrol money to drive all the way to Birmingham either.

So tomorrow I’m going to carry on working, and add yet another figure to the ever-increasing balance of money due.

Tomorrow evening I may go to a gig. Then again I may stay huddled indoors. On Sunday there’s another gig I may go to too. But that’s all that’s on the horizon for this weekend now.

Y’all have a good one.

6 thoughts on “It was a dark and rainy day …

  1. Dray

    Wooha. And for a moment I thought you’d slipped into a 1930’s detective mode. Which, by the way, I think are wonderful. “It was a dark stormy night in the windy city. I looked through a crack’d pane beaten by incessant rain, recoiling from the sirens below”. I know. Awful. But I love it 🙂

    Like

  2. Carol

    Hope the weekend pans out better than it has started. I’m off to Keswick tomorrow for a few days. Daughter no 1 is joining me with the grandkids for the weekend and then I’ve got a few days alone (except for the dog!). I intend to walk and get on with plenty of writing. I’ll have no excuse as there is no broadband or telephone line at all, where I am staying.

    Like

  3. jackie brown

    I’m so sorry to hear that you’re not going to be able to do your pitch at Foyle’s; I was sure good things would ensue. x

    Like

Comments are closed.