Oddjob

Before I headed off to Barnsley to the bank yesterday I thought I’ d do another quick check to make sure there wasn’t a branch closer. First of all I searched for Barnsley, then Sheffield and then Rotherham, but Barnsley town centre was the closest.

Then I remembered we’re on the edge of West Yorkshire here – that’s what’s beyond the Road to Nowhere and is actually where it goes, but not many people seem to use it or remember it’s there. So I searched for Pontefract … and found a branch less than 10 minutes away. In the opposite direction to Everywhere Else.

Ten minutes!

And it’s open on Saturdays until 1pm. Had I headed there at noon on Saturday instead of to Meadowhall I would have been back before I even arrived at Meadowhall, let alone started driving around in circles.

I checked they weren’t contemplating closing the branch in the near future (they’re not), and I checked their opening times, and I think cheques will go there in future instead of via the post office. Cash has to go in via a branch anyway, but cheques can go through the post.

I’m delighted, though, that I finally found it. I’ve only been in this village 8½ years …

When I got back I took the dog for a walk in the park again and by the time we got home it was too late to get my teeth into anything big. So instead I did a few odd jobs that have been niggling to be done but that keep getting ignored.

I changed the light bulb in the spare bedroom. This is the last – I think – of the old-type light bulbs in the house, apart from the two daylight bulbs. I’ll have to find out if they do energy saving daylight bulbs. One is in my standard lamp in the lounge, for when I’m reading or sewing or working down there; the other is in my desk lamp because the desk is in a dark corner. They get very hot so must use a lot of energy.

I checked my gas and electricity meter readings and found out that my energy company had over-estimated my bill again. Only by about £7 or £8 (apx $11 or $12), but even so … Immediately I logged the difference online so they have a record.

And I repaired my loo seat – again! I swear I’m going to save up and buy a dearer one next time in the hope it lasts a bit longer. This time the screws that hold the hinges on between the lid and the seat had chewed the wood, so they kept falling out. I filled the holes with wood-filler and when it set screwed the hinges back in. It seems to be holding – for now. On the last two loo seats the hinges sheared in half.

Do you put off and forget odd jobs around the home?

I didn’t do any cooking, I didn’t feel like it, and by the time I settled down to have my tea it was almost 9pm. That’s far too late to be eating my evening meal. Today I intend to be more organised …

Cracking on today then, I have a book to proof-read.

6 thoughts on “Oddjob

  1. I have an odd job man. He puts them off and forgets about them, my job is to remind him!
    What are you doing to your loo seat, on second thoughts I don’t want to know!
    Glad the money side is picking up…a huge sigh of relief.

    Like

    • It could be the swinging from the lampshade from a great height and landing on the loo seat … or it could be the resident fairy elephant … or they could just be rubbish loo seats …

      Like

Comments are closed.