Normal service may resume soon

I hate it when I have anyone working at the house. Well, I love it, obviously, because it means I’m getting stuff done. But I get so distracted by it all.

Yesterday and today the decorator has been here replacing the wallpaper damaged by the flood in the summer. He’s painted the new paper too and gone around freshening up the woodwork. I had trouble matching the paint and couldn’t find paper remotely like what was already up. So all around the room, beneath the dado, so it matches, there’s new paper and new paint.

When I chose my red paint nearly three years ago, it was the only shade I had to choose from. This time I had about five shades to choose from and not one was the one I used then. So opening the tin was a bit of an adventure, and we did think it looked a bit pink compared to the old paint. But now it’s up and drying, with several coats, it is darker. It’s not quite the colour it was but I still like it.

He’s cut around the carpet so he could paint the skirting boards all the way down, but I still have carpet in the bulk of the room. The lounge smells so much nicer already, now that the soggy wallpaper has been replaced and painted, and I could smell the damp on the off-cuts of carpet I threw away.

The weather turned on us today. We’ve had heavy rain forecast and the cold, icy weather of yesterday made way for drizzle today. It’s a bit warmer, but it’s too wet for him to sort out the door and step.

So he’s coming back another day to replace all the mortar that washed away around the step and the stones. He’s going to infill beneath the step with insulating foam. He’s going to check the insulation around the door frame and re-insulate it if necessary. And he’s going to put drain holes into the door strip to make sure water never has the chance to collect there again.

The carpet fitters are coming Thursday afternoon. Then the distractions should be all over, the room will definitely smell sweeter, I can claim my insurance money and get them all paid, and hopefully we’ll be all snug again in time for Christmas.

Sorry, did I mention the C word? Well, now Bonfire Night’s over with it is next on the calendar.

Workwise, and NaNo-wise, these few days of distraction mean I’ve not done as much work as I’d like nor as much writing. That’s going to change as of now … or as soon as I’ve had something to eat. I’m going to work for a couple of hours this evening proof-reading a book and if I get it finished I’ll run it into town.

Rufus has already had his walk today. I had to go out this morning to get paint for the decorator and so walked the dog on the way back. All the excitement of having someone here for a couple of days has now worn him out and he’s fast asleep on the little settee. (I’m on the big settee with Domino.)

While I did what work I did manage upstairs I couldn’t help but notice how cold it was up there. So yesterday I ordered an under-desk oil-filled radiator so I don’t have to crank up the whole heating while I work. It only cost about £25 (apx $40) with FREE delivery … and it arrived TODAY. I only ordered it yesterday. Is that service or is that service? So that’s now upstairs in place beneath the desk, tested to make sure it works. Now I have to sell an extra piece of work to justify the expense …

I did manage to source some photographs for an article I had accepted and those went off today with the name and the address of the person concerned so she could have a repro fee I negotiated for her. I managed some proof-reading, and I also sent off receipts already gathered to the insurance company. They just need the decorator’s receipt.

This means I have NO EXCUSES between now and Thursday afternoon. I have this non-fiction book to proof-read, deliver and invoice (hurrah!); a historical novel to edit, upload and invoice (hurrah! – but the author sent me some changes to include today); a novel to assess (pre-payment already received – hurrah!); and a novel to write.

I think I’m going to get a couple of gigs I bid for recently, but one of those is from several weeks ago. I thought they’d given the job to someone else, but they’ve sent me a message today updating me on progress and telling me they’re excited to be working with me …

I also have a couple of payments I’m waiting for, plus the above cheque to bank once I start work on that job. I can’t bank it before I start work because of psychology. My brain will think I’ve been paid and that therefore the work is already done, and I’ll struggle to motivate myself to do it then  I am so ill-disciplined.

Also on the up side, I’ve sold some books this week, which is always good news. And it’s only Tuesday!

Here’s to warmer winter days. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Normal service may resume soon

  1. You sound quite productive to me! I wish I could get in a little more writing time – my poor body just doesn’t let me, alas, though hopefully the visit to the doctor tomorrow will help me get things sorted. Either that, or I just need to really toughen up! 🙂

    Like

  2. Carol

    Looks like the start of a very good week. Strangely enough we are in the middle of decorating the hall and stairs. Yes, the carpet is cut away so that the skirting board can be properly painted. I’ve just about chosen the paper and carpet but I may still change my mind! Good luck with it all and don’t forget to breathe. :0)

    Like

Comments are closed.