Navel gazing

I had another very busy weekend. I didn’t manage any baking because I was working, I sold my Wii, which took time getting it all unplugged and ready, but enabled us all to be fed, and I uploaded a few other white elephants to be sold.

One of my New Year Resolutions was if I didn’t use the Wii or the DS-Lite they could both be sold. I sold the DS about a month ago, and now the Wii has gone too – and already I’m missing them. I don’t know why as I’d not used either for months. It must be a psychological thing.

We had a trip down to Birmingham on Sunday, then yesterday I got hit in the face (or the belly) with a tummy bug.

I never, ever get an upset stomach. Either that’s because it’s made of cast iron, or it’s because I’m generally quite careful what I put inside it. It might have been indigestion, it might have been a bug, but I felt dog rough when I surfaced yesterday morning.

However, I had work to do. So I pushed on, slogged at it, and filed at 2pm, and then went back to bed. When I woke up three hours later I was starving hungry and ate a veritable feast for tea.

So I don’t know what that was all about. It seems to have cleared now – perhaps it needed something substantial inside my belly to attack, rather than attack itself – and I woke up and shifted another job this morning – filed at 11:30am.

I have two Very Big jobs in the in tray to do, a writing assignment, and a very short writing assignment, but I need photographs of the subject for this one and she’s gone quiet on me. I hope she’s all right, though, as she’s a poorly person, and that’s why I’m not nagging too much. I don’t want to put the work in, though, and have the job rejected because the photographs haven’t turned up. The other writing assignment is a No Rush, so I’ll crack on with the Very Big ones for now.

I’ve spent half an hour on the job boards, too, and I quoted for five new jobs. My prices went up on 1 November and now I only bid over a certain fee. By the time the currency conversion and transaction fees have been taken the price per job is slightly lower than bid anyway, so I’m also building those into my bids and then rounding up.

In the past week I’ve been asked for two quotes privately, and both have said those will be on their way. If they haven’t come by the time I’ve cleared the in tray, I’ll do some writing.

Because of workload, and due to having work done in the house, NaNo has – once again – slipped by the wayside. I’m still going to build that writing time into the diary, though, and work on whichever of the two current projects has the most steam at the time.  I’m hoping this will help with the creative peaks and troughs.

Today I was supposed to be in town for a welcome home military parade, but traffic is bad and I want to shift this work and get it invoiced. I also have the water board coming this afternoon/evening to try and locate this leak in the lounge floor. I have to walk the dog too, and I need to do some diary work.

I’ve been doing a bit of navel gazing recently and trying to get back on track both with work and the social life. Our local ramblers have an interesting walk on Sunday. It’s an easy one but it’s 7 miles and that may be a bit far – but it’s an easy one … If I don’t join them, I may take the dog off on our own for a slightly shorter walk. I’ve not been to a gig in ages either, so I want to put that right if I can. I also want to meet up with Carol this side of Christmas too.

Work-wise, since I plugged the fire in upstairs I’ve been a lot more productive. I’ve re-set the central heating so it comes on for a couple of hours in the morning, and then a few hours in the evening. So far, it’s warmed up enough outside that I’ve not had to put the fire on in the office until at least mid-day. I’ve not switched it on at all today and as I’ll be working downstairs just as soon as I’ve done the daily competitions, the lounge fire will be going on instead.

I’ve decided not to do very much short writing unless it comes to me or I have an idea I’m burning to write. I’m going to concentrate on the novels and maybe short stories. I’ve also decided to go for more proof-reading jobs than editing. The rate for the job is slightly lower, but I can do more of it in less time, and my proof-reading is quite thorough anyway – some dare to say “pernickerty”, but I say that’s why they hire me. I’ll still do copy editing, especially if it comes to me, but I’m not going to bid for it on the job boards unless I have loads of bids left and no proof-reading jobs to go for.

The job I pushed on with yesterday and filed at 2pm has just been paid for electronically. This is excellent news and the main reason I do that work – it pays exactly how much it says it’s going to (i.e. however much I bid – less those pesky fees), and it pays almost immediately on completion. The money will take up to three days to hit my bank account. But it’s on the way and that’s the main thing.

Very Big jobs are all very well, and I do love them, but they do take a while longer to do and, therefore, the money takes a little longer in arriving. I’m also owed for 3 other jobs (elsewhere) and I’m awaiting my insurance claim settlement cheque.

Better to be owed than for the coffers to be empty, eh.

4 thoughts on “Navel gazing

  1. You certainly know how to pack a lot into your week. I have a number of items that I regularly think of selling, but just never get round to it. Maybe that should be a new years resolution for 2013.

    Like

    1. Ebay are currently doing some special weekends where you don’t have to pay for ads. One day – one day – I’ll take advantage of that and get them up on there too.

      Like

Comments are closed.