The drugs are working

My back has been in bits for the past few days. I have arthritis in my hips. They know it’s arthritis because the pain diminishes throughout the day. Only these past few days it hasn’t. I need to find a Yoga or Pilates workout or programme for the lower back, but until then I’m on the drugs for the first time since they were given to me.

Not a lot, just 2 paracetamol in the morning with 2 codeine, then the same again in the evening. I prefer to use drugs as a last resort, so I only want to do this for three days. I think going back to bed on Monday didn’t help and I’m wondering if I should go back to a divan bed. I seem to have had this current problem since getting a bedstead.

BUT, for now, the drugs are working and the days are pretty much pain-free. I just don’t want to get dependent on them.

For the first time in a couple of weeks I seem to be back on schedule, at the pc when I’m supposed to be, with lots of ticks happening in the diary. The diary was last night’s activity. I’ve filled in the jobs I have to do this week, the places I need and want to be, the things I’ll be doing.

I had quite a good day yesterday considering Yorkshire Water arrived at 1pm. “You’re supposed to be here between 4pm and 6pm,” said I, amused. “Not me,” he said. “I’m drains.” Half an hour later they arrived again and I had two of them. “You’re supposed to be here between 4pm and 6pm,” I repeated, “if you’re fresh water.” Yes, he was fresh, but he said exactly the same thing that I’d said to the office when they told me the time slot. “But it’ll be dark by 4pm.”

And so the two of them worked, putting dye down the drains, again, sending the camera through, listening to all of the water hydrants and main supply taps. But they couldn’t find anything. Drains are fine, fresh is fine. They’re still investigating, and at 5pm another one arrived, but I don’t think he found anything either.

Meanwhile, I definitely still have a spring in my lounge floor, albeit a teensy-weensy one. I think Environmental Health will be next. Or the Environment Agency.

Today, then, once the daily competitions have been entered and the job boards perused, I’m doing the weekly update on the gig list and then I’m settling back down downstairs again to carry on editing a book.

My 30-minute slot on the blog is almost up. And no, it didn’t take me 30 minutes to write. I had to boot up, check emails and log in to a few things before I actually got here. But now it’s time to move on to the next job.

(TICK.)

4 thoughts on “The drugs are working

  1. Try ‘Honeygar’ from a health shop. Apparently Ranulph Fiennes swears by it for his arthritis. Acetic acid is supposed to help but stay off citric acid.

    Like

  2. I totally understand the pain, over the years I’ve broken a number of bones, and once the weather turns the damp seems to take over my body. I’m taking the same medication, I’d be very interested in knowing how you get on with the yoga.

    Like

Comments are closed.