A pat on the back

I’m giving myself an appreciative pat on the back for this week.

Ranting and whinges aside, I’ve churned out 2 Big Jobs, edited almost 1,000 pages, written over 7,000 words, written or studied for 2 hours every day, picked up another Big Job, and ticked off all but one chore from the list (and that was washing up!), and there’s still today to go.

Yesterday, once the daily stuff was done, I worked the whole time. I took a break to battle the gales and take Rufus for his jabs. We were blown all the way there and he thought it was the BEST thing EVER, and tons better than that horrible bonfire night 2 weeks ago. When we arrived at the vet, he dragged me across the road and in through the door, laffing his head off, wagging his tail. And the only time he blinked was when he had his fingernails clipped.

On the way back I dropped into the post office, although I missed the postman, and picked up a few essential provisions – telly book, chocolate, that kind of thing.

Back home I finished work, chilled in front of the telly for an hour, and then flopped into bed exhausted but happy.

This morning I slept in … Oh well …

The study thing is working. I’m not starting work until my 2 hours are done. I’ve been telling myself that if I went to college for those 2 hours, work would just have to wait until I got home. And it’s working. I’m even getting up earlier and starting earlier just to get it done – well, apart from today … But it’s working.

I’m having a couple of hours on the computer while my eyes wake up, checking emails and Facebook, surfing the jobs boards, entering the daily competitions, writing the blog. Tea break. Then 2 hours study. Lunch break. Then work for the rest of the day – with another tea break and a dog walk thrown in for good measure. And I’m finishing in time for tea.

Why doesn’t it work that way when it’s just plain writing?

Today, then, I still have the daily comps to enter and I want to email the report I typed up yesterday for the Big Job I returned to the owner so he has it ahead of the typescript, as I missed the postman. Then it’s study, and then I have a collection of short stories to proof-read for fast-becoming-fave-private-client, if that’s allowed. The favourite part, not the proof-reading part.

I have nothing planned for the weekend other than shopping, more study (yes, I’m doing it *every* day), baking, dog walking, household chores, and visiting humans (on Sunday). And on Monday, it’s a (Diane) Do(es) Diddle(y Squat) Day, a Do Diddle Day. That means no plans, no phone calls (other than emergencies), no work, no internet, no hassle.

Have a great weekend.

4 thoughts on “A pat on the back

  1. Carol Warham

    All sounds good, have a good weekend. I’ll have a little sympathy please. I’m coughing, spluttering and sneezing…generally quite unpleasant to be near…but I do like to share!

    Like

Comments are closed.