Grumpy old woman (rant alert)

I forgot to post yesterday. I got a bit carried away catching up on short story submissions. I’d let them slip and as I’m now collating Twee Tales Two I need as many as possible to earn their living before they’re immortalised forever.

The word counter widgets are still unavailable today, but Twee Tales Two is currently standing at 10,139 words (with a target of 20,000 words max), Back to Basics is still at 6,053 words (with an initial target of 10,000 words) and Tales From Baggins Bottom Best Bits Book One is at 11,167 words (with an initial target of 30,000 words).

I now have 55 submissions “out there” with various magazines all over the world. Twenty-nine of those went yesterday. I also had a quick look at the latest jobs, entered my daily competitions and walked the dog.

That’s quite a busy day and I still have lots to do on the two books.

I don’t have any pressing deadlines at the moment and this is making me faff slightly. I need to get back on track with the schedule, starting the day with my two hours of writing/study time. I still have a collection of short stories to finish proof-reading and a book to edit.

I am, however, managing the daily Yoga. I received a message last Wednesday, 21 November, that my book had been dispatched and would be with me on 6 December … (pause a moment while we all work that out …) but it actually arrived just two days later on the Friday.

There’s a morning workout in there that only takes ten minutes or so, and that’s what I’ve been doing before breakfast, since Saturday morning. Already it’s working – remarkably well, actually – and within about another week I’ll be adding the next ten-minute workout to it.

It makes such a difference being able to walk around normally and not feel any pain, to be able to stand up from a seated position and not have to hobble for the first few feet, to be able to bend over and tie my shoelaces without having to sit down or crouch. And all this in less than a week. I’m delighted with progress so far.

Of course, for every positive in the Cosmos there’s sometimes a negative, and here comes that rant …

THREE network (mobile phone) is apparently down in my area for maintenance today … but they didn’t think to mention it to anyone as it’s only one day … and nor did they think to reimburse anyone for any network rental for that day as they’re upgrading and improving the service and it’s only for one day. Apparently.

(Imagine me saying this in a controlled and rational manner …)

So anyone in the middle of a phone conversation at 9am today was unceremoniously cut off. No apology, no explanation, no re-connection until tomorrow. Supposing, of course, that it comes back on tomorrow. We’ve had sub-standard service since they allegedly improved the network in the summer. Can’t wait for the latest round of improvements …

They said it’s not usual for them to offer compensation under these circumstances, but I beg to differ. I am paying, monthly, for a service, and they knew that this service would be unavailable today yet they were still charging me for it.  AND I had to pay for the phone call via my landline to report the problem  only to find out they were aware of it. Their automated message on the paid-for support phone number didn’t even mention it.

(Prepare for slight escalation …)

They thought it would be okay because I could use another mobile phone, because, of course, we all have spare phones aside from our existing phones in these times of financial hardship, don’t we?

And then they thought I could just pop a different sim card into my phone, because, of course, we all have spare sim cards lying around with loads of unused call and internet time already loaded onto them.

And then they thought I could just ask a work colleague if I could use their phone for the day … bearing in mind I work from home, and alone, and everyone has a mobile phone so that they can give it to someone else for the day …

And THEN they suggested I TRAVEL to a DIFFERENT area where the network was still active and work from THERE for the day …

WHAT’S THE POINT IN HAVING A MOBILE PHONE IF YOU HAVE TO TRAVEL SOMEWHERE ELSE TO USE IT?

(And breathe.)

So that compensation that they never give under such circumstances … It’s amazing what the word “ombudsman” can do …

However, while I am getting increasingly short-tempered, intolerant and impatient in my grumpy old age, I am nevertheless without mobile phone for today.

Y’all have a good one, now.

4 thoughts on “Grumpy old woman (rant alert)

  1. I think that ‘customer service’ person was too inventive for their own good: ‘sorry’ would have worked better than all the nonsensical suggestions! There was a village up the hill here that lost their connection for several months and the supplier still refused to compensate them – same old line that you got. And of course, the signal is a bit random hereabouts at the best of times, which is why we all have to have landlines and don’t have fancy phones and roaming dongles, or whatever you call them! Hope everything gets back to normal soon.

    Oh, and impressive work rate, as ever 🙂

    Like

    • Well, I suddenly got a rash of texts, which meant the network was back up. Seems like it wasn’t a planned outage at all but yet another fault.

      When we’re paying for a service and we’re not getting that service, when they’re knowingly not providing that service, especially when we’re bound by contracts, they should reimburse everyone for each day it’s unavailable. Otherwise it’s technically fraudulently taking money. I think it’s disgraceful.

      They offered me compensation, but pointed out this isn’t available to everyone and was just because I’m a longstanding customer.

      How much longer do we see that lasting, then …?

      Like

  2. Three are becoming a bit regular with their network failures. Let me down a few times when I really needed a phone. Trouble is at the moment its the best valure PAYG network out there (IMO)

    Like

Comments are closed.