Playtime

I had a good weekend. I didn’t do much, didn’t have much planned. But on Saturday I did take the dog on a longer walk out of the village and we had quite an adventure.

First of all we saw a pony and trap at the top of the snicket (footpath) and I kicked myself for not bringing my camera. Then there was an explosion and I thought it was just a car backfiring. I noticed a plume of black smoke behind us, but just assumed someone was having a bonfire.

Once we got down into the muddy bit we were overtaken by a young lad in yellow leather on a dirt bike (or off-road bike). We had a quick chat and as he revved off into the distance, Rufus had lots of fun chasing him. He saw a crow taking off across a field too, and also took off behind that. But he happily came back when I called him.

When we emerged back into the village there were uniforms everyone. The explosion turned out to be someone’s garage blowing up and then burning down. The road was blocked going out of the village and suddenly everybody wanted to use the Road To Nowhere that Nobody Usually Does. We had four fire engines, a fire service mini-bus and two police cars. Very exciting – and fortunately no-one had been hurt.

Rufus was covered in mud when we got home so he went straight in the bath. Then we both slobbed on the settee in front of the telly and I joined him for a nap.

On Sunday we went to see my parents. It was a glorious day, until I hit Nuneaton, and then the squall started. But generally it was a nice day for a drive. When we got back there was more chilling on the settee.

And then – playtime …

The sharp-eyed may have noticed I’ve done some redecorating here in Baggins Bottom. The current festive theme is just for the Christmas period while I play and faff with a new website. The website has been stewing for a while and last night, literally during the night, I think I found a format and layout that I like. There’s still a LONG way to go and it really is very much a work in progress. But if you fancy bobbing along, you can follow the link here.

I still have lots to do, like purchase and register a domain name so it’s a bit easier to remember and to get rid of the ads. I have more pages to add, such as news and events, and maybe a competition page.

Do you have any suggestions? What would you like to see on a website? What do you think of the name? Answers below or the really adventurous may like to try the new contact form

6 thoughts on “Playtime

    1. Thank you. When it was still Diane Parkin, there were too many stalkers – you know, history and stuff. Once I changed it that died off, and when I moved over from Blogger it disappeared completely. Hopefully it will stay that way.

      Like

Comments are closed.