Omens

I’ve had a busy and horrendous week and this is why the blog has been neglected slightly – well, that and wanting to keep the competition at the top for a few days.

So, what’s been happening since last week?

Well, the weather’s been up and down, mostly down and chilly. At the moment it’s mostly wet too, and has been for nearly 20 hours. BUT …

Last night I did a bodge job on the front door to keep the rain out, and I think I found the problem: approximately 2cm (¾”) of silicone sealant has been eroded away in the bottom corner of the door frame, where the frame meets the step and the stone wall. I scraped away some sandstone dust that had accumulated and there was this hole, lurking behind the dust.  I’d got some expanding foam to squirt in the gap beneath the doorstep, but as soon as I saw this gap I had an aha! moment.

The gap is now sealed again, along with the entire join along the step and the wall and so far – so far – after 20 hours of persistent rain, it seems to have done the trick. As I write I have NO RAIN in my living room. This is a good omen. I hope.

I still need to have the doorframe ripped out, insulated, re-sealed and put back, and I still need drainage holes drilling in the gutter/tray thing in the bottom of the plastic frame. I also need a proper job doing under the step as my attempt resulted in excess foam oozing out all over the public footpath and I had to hack away at that with a knife once it had set. But for now, if it keeps the rain out, it will do.

We’ve also had freezing fog that has lingered for days and we’ve had treacherous black ice underfoot causing all sorts of problems. If the temperature drops again on top of all of this rain we’re having, we’ll have the black ice thing again.

So there’s the weather report. What else …?

Ah yes, I went out on Sunday night, to a place I’ve never been to before (The Plug, Sheffield) to see a band I’ve never seen before (The Saw Doctors) with a chap I’ve never been out with before (mind your own business!), and we had a great time. Or I did at any rate. It was a fun night out with much Irish jigging. I enjoyed the band, I enjoyed being anonymous, and I enjoyed the company. Win win win for me. 🙂

I’ve been working at lots of things this week, mostly finding more work for the new year but also chasing up and sorting out money issues. That’s been the horrendous part, but I think it’s all sorted now. For now.

Today I have a new book in to proof-read on top of some electronic edits I have to do. I also have in two more books to proof-read and one to edit, with another on the way. On Wednesday evening I received my first invite to bid for a job, I was the only person to bid who’d received the invite (out of about 12), and I won the job. I’m hoping that’s another good omen.

I’d best crack on with that work. Meanwhile, don’t forget the competition.

4 thoughts on “Omens

  1. Carol Warham

    The weather has been horrendous, but other things look on a positive note. Last Friday when it was thick sheet black ice everywhere, friends who live in the middle of the village heard a horrendous bang at 4am. The next morning a whole row of parked cars, down the main street, had been shunted and wrecked by someone that didn’t stop. Two cars, one brand new, were total writeoffs. I just had problems staying on my feet….so did the dog! Quite comical, but I feel for those half dozen folk.
    Well, bring on Christmas I’m about all prepared. We have had problems with our heating but hopefully the engineer is on top of that today, so that’s good.
    Lots of family arriving from Sunday onwards, fortunately not all stopping!!
    Wishing a wonderful Christmas and a happy and successful 2013 to all your other followers.
    Thanks for entertaining, informing and advising us. Thanks for allowing us to share your ups and downs. I know we have all at times enjoyed, sympathised and laughed with you. Take care.

    Like

    1. It hasn’t stopped here at all. Another hour and it will have been going solidly for 24 hours. BUT … the door repair’s holding up. 🙂

      Are you signing off now until after Christmas?

      Like

      1. Carol Warham

        Probably not. I think I’ll be around a bit until Saturday evening, but I’m never sure what may crop up!
        The rain keeps pouring here and apparently may be like that all Christmas…hope not!

        Like

Comments are closed.