Back on target

My daily target, writing-wise, is at least 1,000 words per day over all projects. Last week was quite up and down but looked like this:

  • Tuesday = 977 words
  • Wednesday = 1,127 words
  • Thursday = 1,041 words
  • Friday = 321 words
  • Saturday = 325 words
  • Sunday = 1,067 words

For my first week of the year, of a potential 6,000 words, I managed 4,858. I suppose that’s not too bad considering I spent 3 days in bed. Even so …

This week is going a lot better with 1,107 words on Monday, 1,650 words on Tuesday and 606 words so far today. As this week is a 7-day week, my target this time is 7,000 words.

We shall see.

I finished the proof-corrections for Baggins Bottom Best Bits and ordered a new version. As soon as that comes and I’ve checked it, off it’ll go to Jackie.

The dog also got his first proper walk in a few days yesterday, and I did the shopping on the way back as I’ve not done a proper shop since before Christmas.

When I got home I settled in front of the telly for the next 5 hours, a real slobfest, but was disturbed twice during the night, first with a nightmare and then Rufus wanting out at stupid o’clock. If I have just one more nightmare, the dreamcatcher’s coming out of the spare room and into my room.

Despite then sleeping in, however, I managed to hang some washing out this morning before settling down to a few hours of work. (Note to self: Go and fetch it in …)

I still have lots to do today, but was happy to spend some time with Ace of Wands earlier. I’ve been doing some character work for this long short story and they’re starting to come to life.

There are a few jobs on my watch list at the moment, but I’m not bidding for any because they all want them doing now and I’m busy just now, and for the next 2 weeks at least. If newly promised work continues to come in, I’ll also be busy until mid-February. But I’ve learned, the hard way, not to rely on promised work. I’ll clear the current decks and then see what’s still going before applying for any. I’ve also learned not to have a too-full in-tray, although an empty in-tray is to be avoided at all costs.

Here’s what I already have in or am already working on:

  • crime novel to proof-read
  • non-fiction to proof-read
  • historical novel to edit
  • historical novel to proof-read

And here’s what’s promised:

  • 7 fan-fictions to proof-read

My own job list for the month of January also consists of:

  • write 13,834 words for Catch the Rainbow (3,336 words per week)
  • write 1,400-word short story for fave market
  • write 4,000-word story Ace of Wands
  • arrange interviews for We Also Served
  • write sample first chapter for We Also Served

That’s a total monthly word count of 19,234.

Eek!

