Join in

blog thumbnailIt’s been another week of proof-reading, proof-reading, proof-reading. I’ve been so busy catching up that every day I’ve run out of time before being able to log onto the laptop. I’ve not been over the doorstep, other than to walk the dog to either the letterbox or the Co-op. The car still has a pile of snow on it and at some point I need to fire it up to see if it, well, fires up.

Much of my Facebook stuff has been FB admin, anything else has mostly been sharing of other people’s funnies, and all of it via the mobile phone. I even had a whole day away from there, just logging in once or twice to reply to people who had bothered to leave a comment for me. That was actually quite liberating.

Yesterday was an interesting day when I hoped to get online and catch up with some work, but my nuisance neighbour is obviously bored and has been troublesome again. So the morning was spent talking to the police and the afternoon spent talking to my solicitor (twice) and to the local council (several different bounces, but all were trying to help, we just didn’t know the correct department).

In between, I also got embroiled in some local discussions about our council granting planning permission to incoming larger organisations on our greenbelt land – when we have so many brown-field sites and disused properties already lying vacant … I collated my responses and will probably look at converting them into reader’s letters, fillers or possibly an investigative journalistic piece, or 2. I’ve obviously hit a nerve as several of my comments have been amalgamated to promote the discussion … and the discussion has escalated with probably 98% agreeing with me. This is why I feel I should do something with the material.

Today, then, I finally got onto the computer, and did so as soon as I got up to make sure that I did. And I’ve been catching up with the job boards, applying for 7, receiving a query almost instantly on one that I hope I gave the right answer to. I have some proof-reading work to do and some editing, but as the end of the month approaches (already!) I need to be thinking in advance.

I also need to do some publicity work for the large print version of Night Crawler, as that’s published next Friday. I’ll be contacting the local media here and back in Birmingham.

There was some amusing blog spam awaiting me when I reached here finally, and I pasted it onto my Facebook … only I can do that and end up with a Yoda-speaking competition in the replies … 😉

I’ve been added to a new online writers’ group to compliment an actual writing group, and for the first time since I got up here, I have a real live writers’ group to attend on Saturdays in Leeds. I’ve only been here 9 years …

NINE years?! Yes, in February 2004 I moved up from Solihull, and in January 2006 I moved into my current house. Seven years ago. It’s frightening how time flies.

Tomorrow is the third group meeting. I made it to the first, passed on the second, and tomorrow is a Do Diddle Day. This means I don’t plan anything but see what I feel like when I get up. I shall probably feel like walking the dog, nipping to Leeds and then doing my shopping on the way home as, weather permitting (and we’ve had more snow forecast …), I’m visiting my parents on Sunday. The rail fare to Leeds is quite high, so I can’t see me attending every single week, but I will try to make it once a fortnight.

So, do join in. Greenbelt vs brown-field? What are your thoughts regarding development and the economy?

Have a great weekend.

