Three days a week

I’ll be regularly updating the blog again, but only for 3 days a week, on the 1st day of the month for the month’s to-do list, on the last day of the month for the how-I-did, and on Do Diddle Days to remind folk it’s a Do Diddle Day. Watch out for updates on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and – where they don’t fall on those days – the other 3 days too (1st, last, 26th).

This fits in much better with me not necessarily being on the pc every day when I’m busy. I’ll come on every Monday to do the walks reports and file those, I’m on every Wednesday to update the gig list, and every Friday to do invoices. As everything else can pretty much be done on the phone, and as I have weekends off (in case anyone has forgotten), it’s unlikely I’ll be here outside of those times – unless I’m submitting work by email or typing up, but I won’t necessarily be online whilst typing up.

Posts on the 1st, last and 26th can be scheduled in advance.

So, happy bunnies; job jobbed.

I’m working on a heavy edit at the moment. It’s a 146,000-word auto-biography and I’m probably cutting it down, as I go along, by about 26,000 words. When it comes to wielding an axe, I’m right up there with the best of them. It’s long and hard work, but it’s a really interesting story and I’ve suggested it to already-lovely-boss and already-lovely-boss’s-also-lovely-boss, and they seem keen too.

I’m still a little behind, and catching up on backlog caused by holiday and injury. A nice, easy job would have been good, but this one was next in the queue, so it’s the next one I’m working on. I also had another set of author edits on a previous book for already-lovely-boss’s-other-colleague, and that was so quick to sort out, I did it in between. We’re still having layout issues with that one, but I need to crack on a bit more with this one before allowing myself to be distracted again.

Hopefully I’ll get there soon and everyone will be happy again.

The 30k in 30 days in April challenge is going really well, and the eagle-eyed will see that not only am I on track, but I’m also over half-way. This is such a big thing for me as, usually, my own work takes a back seat. Closer to the end of the challenge I will do an update on this, along with a list of accomplishments (me and my lists … 😉 ).

However, it’s working so well that my own writing is now becoming a priority, even if it is only lots of short works getting completed finally. And because of this I’m looking ahead to May and wondering how to raise the bar. So, here are today’s questions:

  1. Do I just carry on with the 1,000 words a day until I’ve run out of ideas for short works?
  2. Do I switch from short works to longer works (bearing in mind I have a non-fiction book as well as several novels to work on still)?
  3. Do I keep with the 1,000 words a day on short works and add 1,000 words of longer works to it?
  4. Do I switch to 1,000 words a day on longer projects and carry on with short works if I haven’t run out of steam?

What would you do? Suggestions in the usual place – thank you!

blog thumbnail

3 thoughts on “Three days a week

  1. Can ‘t you stick with 1000 words a day but switch between shorts and longs as it suits, so long as you do the requisite number of words? Or it that too lackadaisical for you! If you manage more than that it is always a bonus. I’m glad you’ll be back blogging, I’ve missed it. From already lovely me to already lovely you, via already lovely Rufus and oh dear, I’m lovlied out!

    Like

    • So maybe carry on with 1,000 words a day and try not to get too carried away with what I’ve achieved so far? That would be fine if I didn’t have 3 non-fictions and a dozen novels on the back burner, as well as short stories, articles, fillers, readers’ letters, RTEs, puzzles, etc. 1k a day is shifting work, but not a huge amount – although more than I’ve shifted in the last 8 years, certainly. It’s not lackadaisical, but it’s not much of a challenge – although it obviously has been a challenge for the last 8 years … Hmm. Thanks for the feedback. I’m just mulling here … 🙂

      Like

  2. I know you have loads of work, but keep targets achievable or slightly challenging then you can gloat every day when you surpass yourself!

    Like

Comments are closed.