Spring flowers

P1020189I wish I had some lovely cheerful flowers in my lounge right now, but these from 2 years ago will do. Aren’t they lovely? The flowers are late this year. The daffodils are only just showing along the roadsides, but there’s a better show this year than I’ve ever seen since moving here 9 years ago.

There’s a bypass in Solihull that breaks out into full daffodil bloom every single spring, but Barnsley has always been about 2 weeks behind. This year, after such a long winter, it’s even further behind – although as I haven’t been down the bypass in Solihull yet this year, maybe it isn’t. It’s never been a patch on Solihull before, but it’s getting there this year.

Is it every 3rd year the daffodils flourish?

Everything is late. It’s almost the end of April and lots of garden birds are still only just collecting nest material. I empty out all of my hairbrushes, and the pet brushes, so they have soft hair to line their nests too. The pigeons are funniest, the size of the twigs and sticks they fly back with. I often wonder if their partners tell them to go back and try again.

My apple tree is only just starting to sprout. The other one is well and truly D E double D dedd and I need to get another. They’re self-fertilising, but the surviving apple tree hasn’t borne fruit for 2 years, so I think they need a helping push. The apple blossom has been lovely, but that’s late too. My grapevine also looks dead, but when I scratched the stem with a thumbnail, I spotted green, so it may just be late too.

The hydrangea, which is always late, seems to be the first one coming into leaf. The whole garden is out of kilter and I daren’t even try sowing seeds yet, even with my mini-greenhouse. It’s still far too cold out there at night.

My Do Diddle Day is probably going to be late too. I’ve been working late for several nights and the never ending editing job still never ends. I feel as though I’m working at a cliff face instead of a type face. I’ve sent the first half of the book off to the client to keep him busy for a day or so, but when a job drags it certainly does it with style.

So I may have to postpone my Do Diddle Day this month. I will have one, just maybe not on Friday. I’ll also be staying home to work tomorrow instead of going to the local council meeting.

It’s not that I have a lot to do, more that this one job is taking three times longer than I thought it would – and therein lies the problem. It’s a set price job so I still get the same if it takes me 1 week or 3 weeks, so I’m going to have to do some financial juggling again – I’m getting good at juggling fresh air. And everything else has to get in the queue, which is the other part of the problem, although I have snuck in a couple of copywriting jobs this week and the gig list.

I’ll also probably cancel the Leeds write-in too, and I was toying with a gig in Leeds Saturday night as well that may also get shelved. The gig buddies won’t come as far as Leeds with me, so I would have been going on my own anyway, and I’m not sure I’m up to that either.

I think I’m in need of a pamper. Or maybe just flowers. Offers in the usual place … 😉

2 thoughts on “Spring flowers

  1. Sorry you are so snowed under with this particular job. Hopefully won’t be too long before you see the back of it.

    Like

Comments are closed.