Too hot

I’m sorry, and I know I’m a winter person and all that, and that lots of British people moan about the weather. But I’m afraid I’m one who moans about the weather only when it’s too hot. And right now, it’s too raving hot.

All of my weekend plans were foiled due to the weather. I know I didn’t have many plans, but the biggest one is that with the super pollen count at the moment, poor air quality and very hot temperatures, I felt rubbish Saturday morning when I woke up and spent most of the day in (or on the) bed. I stayed in Saturday night. On Sunday I didn’t go to see my parents, and instead crashed on the settee listening to the cricket. (Which was very exciting, by the way – we won – by the skin of our teeth.)

It’s just too hot.

Today it’s still too hot. I have the parasol set up in the garden to keep the cool beneath it and I’ll be hanging washing out. The rest of the time I’m upstairs, where the heat gathers, at my desk, sitting at a laptop that gives off heat.

I don’t want to hear a single person complain that we’ve not had any summer this year. I know far too many people who are keeling over with heat- and sun-stroke, some leading to nasty asthma attacks, and it’s not nice.

Anyway, enough moaning from me.

Today I’m dropping a book onto a client’s server. I started to do it last week, but the internet fell over and was then quite unstable, and I forgot I hadn’t done it. So that’s my priority today, workwise.

I have a new book to start editing, electronic and hard copies. I hope to start that tomorrow.

I want to get a pitch off to one of my red-top magazines, one that I work for, and I’ve threatened to go public on something else if I don’t receive a call back within the hour today.

They were calling me back on Wednesday, and asked me to keep my mobile phone on, even though I’d told them I was going into a meeting. Friday morning they were going to call back “within the hour”. Friday afternoon they were going to “escalate” it to management, and call me back “within the hour”. And today they’re “escalating” it again and, er, calling me back “within the hour” …

I’ve told them this time that if they don’t call back “within the hour” I’m going to contact my MP immediately and then write my pitch for the red-tops.

I’m already planning my pitch …

I have my MP on speed dial …

And I have a novel to write.

Enjoy the sunshine, dudes. I’m doing a rain dance.

day0402
wishing I was here
10 thoughts on “Too hot

  1. Don’t you dare do a rain dance!! Some of us are loving this. I know some folk are suffering with heat and hay fever and older people have to be careful but we have so FEW weeks, even days, of this. It will soon go back to cold and rainy and then everyone will be moaning about that. It would be better to be on holiday rather than working I agree, but don’t you dare do a rain dance…I’m warning you!

    Like

  2. Jacula

    Steady, soft rain would be lovely overnight, every night. It would save me having to water the garden. I’m not a sunbather, so would like a small cloud over the sun every now and again so I can do the gardening I have to do. I’d also like it not to be so humid that every part of me leaks, including my normally cool, dry hands – because I have sewing to be getting on with. But, I won’t complain about a proper British summer, even if it does only last for about 3 weeks.

    Like

  3. I feel for you. I can’t take the heat either, and we’re rather used to it here.

    We’ve had lovely weather here all week, in the low 80s, although it is pouring down rain at the moment here just a little north of Cincinnati, Ohio.

    Like

Comments are closed.