Crazy few weeks

I’ve had a very crazy few weeks.

I really pushed the boat out and decided to take the last week of August off, but this, of course, meant that I had less time in which to complete my work. I did it, though, went flat out, and managed to shift all save one job – and that last job is a freebie anyway …

And no, I don’t make a habit of doing freebies. It was actually a favour to a favourite client and was rewarded with 3 new paying jobs, the first of which I started yesterday, Monday. This, aside from the pro-bono-esque work I do for my local rambling group (a charity), what I can squeeze in for friends, and my own gig list, is the only free work I do. But I’m contemplating doing something with the gig list to make it start to earn its keep … more on that when it’s been thrashed out a little.

It meant, of course, that I didn’t have time for much else. I didn’t have time to surf the job boards, I didn’t have time to do the daily competitions, and I didn’t have time to blog.

But, oh! We had a wonderful holiday. We only went away for a few days, to Dent in the western Yorkshire Dales on the border with the Lake District. I had no phone signal, I couldn’t access the internet, it was bliss. We managed a couple of walks this time. When I was there before we had snow, at Easter, and they were fetching fatal casualties down from the dales all over the holiday. I stayed indoors that time, but this time we got out and about.

We went on Wednesday and came back on Saturday, it was sunny and dry for much of it but we did have a few showers. We even had one walk in the rain, a local walk around the village that took in part of the Dales Way. We ventured up to Grasmere to visit the Wordsworth house there, and we went to see the osprey at Bassenthwaite – the female adult had already migrated, but the almost-grown chicks gave us a very good show with one of them even having a practice fish. We popped to Hawes for supplies and visited the Wensleydale Creamery there, and the jets flew over twice. I’ve yet to visit Hawes and not get a flypast. 🙂

When we came home we were chilled and relaxed, and even managed a night out.

I don’t have any photographs yet, as they’re still on someone else’s camera. But as soon as I do I’ll start posting. Meanwhile, the one at the bottom is another from our day out at Langsett Reservoir a few weeks ago.

This week, then, I have two new edits to start – one was started yesterday – and 2 articles to write. I also have 2 books to crack on with, a novel and a non-fiction. I have that freebie to complete, plus the gig list to update. And hopefully – hopefully – I’ll have time to surf the job boards and all the other computer stuff.

Oh yes, and my car has to go into the garage – again – on Thursday. 😦

An arty shot from the poet. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)
6 thoughts on “Crazy few weeks

  1. So you think they were jets flying over do you? They were drones. I knew there was something iffy about you. Glad the holiday went well. We’re off on ours at the end of the month, to Devon. Thanks for the edit, Diane, worth your weight in gold you are.

    Like

Comments are closed.