The bridges of Yorkshire Dale country

DSCF0585
We took a lot of pictures of bridges while we were on holiday. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

Well, I remembered to come back in and post, but it’s been another busy week.

Aside from battling flu x 2 – but winning, we hope – I’ve also finished editing a non-fiction, submitted it to the author and had two responses already, with very minimal comments other than replies to my questions (three of them) and a couple of author-error corrections. Basically, he’s happy with my work. 🙂

I carried out the revisions on the other edit, only to find that the software isn’t working, so that’s on hold again until they fix it.

I had a meeting with a new financial management company, updated the gig list for this week, and I’ve pitched for 15 jobs so far.

Today I start a new edit, it’s another historical fiction, and I’ve already raised this week’s invoices. (Hurrah!)

I’ve also started to do the daily competitions again, while I have a tea break.

The weekend is still a bit up in the air, mostly due to the flu. If I’m still coldy, I won’t be very welcome at my parents’ as my dad is likely to catch it. But we do have at least one gig to go to on Saturday.

What I’d like to do, now I seem to back in the swing of paid work again, is get into the swing of writing – fillers, short stories, pitches, books, novels. I’m starting to itch and I need to scratch it and it’s driving me mad not having any time to do it. And yes, yes, yes, I know I have to find or make the time, but just now everything else seems to be wanting attention.

Finances for a start. I need to build credit control into my working week, as well as marketing, sales and promotion. So, while I’m on the subject, please visit my book pages. Proper books are here, ebooks are here. 😀

If I stay home this weekend, I’ll either try to get ahead on the guaranteed paid work, or I’ll have a potter with the writing. Which would you do?

Today’s picture is another from Dentdale. We saw a lot of bridges while on holiday and liked them. Very much.

Have a great weekend.

12 thoughts on “The bridges of Yorkshire Dale country

  1. And you did all this whilst you were sick? I would love to see what you get through when you’re at your fittest! After a week like this, I’d be tempted to have a potter with the writing, seeing it as your ‘me’ time x

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by, Suzie. It’s nice to see you here. 🙂

      And, actually, I hadn’t thought of it like that … I can be a bit hard on myself at times. x

      Like

  2. What to do at the weekend? Well, it has two days, so why not spend one day working on the guaranteed work and one day pottering with the writing? The weather forecast for Sunday makes that a good day to hunker down in the warm and do pottering writing, I think!

    Like

    • Thanks, Simon. Nice to see you too. 🙂

      Yes, the weather forecast isn’t great for Sunday, is it? I do only have one day available, though, to either work or visit my parents. If I don’t visit my parents, I could break the day in two … that’s an idea. Half on paid work and half on writing.

      Like

    • Yes, that could be a good place to start. I used to have the first 2 hours of every working day as “my” writing time and I’d love to get back to that. But half a day might be a good stepping stone. Thank you.

      And thanks for dropping by. You’re very welcome here. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sorry I’m late coming here, but Simon’s suggestion sounds good. Sunday won’t be fit for travelling or going out, so snuggle down and have a ‘me’ day writing what you want to.
    Suzie – I’m sure Diane has an extra gear for when she’s ill! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.