What weekends were made for

Diane and Lord Rufus on Langsett. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)
Diane and Lord Rufus on Langsett. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

I never get sick of saying this, but what a great weekend – again.

Friday evening we stayed in and chilled in front of a football (soccer) match on telly. What made it even more special was that our team – England – actually won. I can’t remember the last time I watched a football game on telly and “my” team won. I’m usually banned from watching because I’m usually such a jinx.

Saturday was a lazy day. We walked the dog – um, to Tesco and back – and we did some shopping, then we made a home-made lasagne for tea. Well, the poet made it. He had a gig, which we headed over to, and we thought it was going to be quite a quiet one …

… until a drunk got up on stage to dance, fell over, taking the bass player’s microphone with him, then climbed up said bass player to get back on his feet … Bass player apparently didn’t drop a note …

… then a chap on crutches got up to dance to Sit Down by James …

… then a, erm, well-endowed lady started doing this erotic dancing, lifted her frock and then flashed her paps and her dental floss …

The poor (yeah, right) poet had to cover his eyes with one hand and carry on playing with the other. It was very funny. I wish we could have got a picture – of him covering his eyes rather than the well-endowed lady …

The best thing about Saturday was that I didn’t just squeeze into an old favourite pair of jeans, but they were comfortable enough for me to wear that night. And I could get both hands in both pockets too.  That made me very happy. And smug. I’ve not been able to get into these jeans for 2 years or more and even 2 weeks ago they were still only getting as far as halfway up my thighs.

I also tried on a very tight pair of WHITE jeans, that also fit but weren’t as comfortable. I thought those were a UK size 10, but both pairs are UK size 12 – one pair is rigid, the white pair is stretchy. I have another pair of white jeans I’d like to fit into next. Those are definitely a UK size 10 but are also rigid. But my next target is a favourite  pair of shorts … and then we’ll have to go somewhere I can wear them … somewhere warm.  😉

Sunday was another lazy day and the poet walked the dog … erm, to the Co-op and back.

We tried to set up my Sky via the modem so we could watch On Demand, but because I don’t have the full subscription, I can’t access the full range of products. I think this is a bit of a con because Sky do advertise that all you need is a modem and broadband and you can watch so much more. I could hardly watch anything more and would have to pay an additional £6 a month just to see boxed sets. As the poet already has all of that at his, we decided it wasn’t worth the extra and changed our minds.

I’ve managed to save £5 a month on my phone bill for 12 months this weekend, and I’ll be cancelling my LoveFilm membership and so saving a further £5 a month. I don’t then need to be paying out another £6 a month or those recent savings will be cancelled out.

Then we tried to set up my laptop so that I can have a bigger monitor (the telly upstairs), but I don’t have the right cables. I’m sure it’s the laptop that’s making my neck ache when I’m working, so that’s a job we need to do in the near future, I think.

At teatime we headed off to another gig that we had no preconceptions about (and the favourite jeans came out with us again), and we had a great time watching and dancing to a very good blues band. When we got home we “ligged” (as they say in Barnsley) on the settee in front of a film.

This really is what weekends were made for.

This week I’m down to 4 days again, with a trip to Birmingham on Thursday. I was going to crack on with a historical fiction edit, but I’ve decided to do a shorter book so I can invoice for it today. I’m on a 14 day settlement and invoices raised before today will meet most of my bills on the 28th of the month.

I need to create a sample edit with tracked changes in Word for potential clients who want to see an example of what I do. But I need to update myself with the latest Word as well so that I can work a little quicker instead of having to stop and look up the latest changes and/or functions all the time.

The poet is also revamping my job board profile and is, I think, setting me up with a Linkedin account. I don’t have time to do anything like that at the moment, while I’m frantically working and getting the work in, so as it’s what he does … Well, it’s a no-brainer. He’s doing a fantastic job, but I think he’s enjoying it too.

Right, well, I think that’s enough for one post – especially when I’m being monitored(!). I’d best crack on with that work.

Today’s picture was taken up on Langsett back in August.

4 thoughts on “What weekends were made for

Comments are closed.