Crazy weekend

windowsill

This is one of my favourite pictures of Tinker and Holly. I often wonder where Tinker went that day she walked away and never come back. But I have my suspicions. I stumbled across this picture this morning and decided to share it for those who remember when she disappeared. She was a lovely cat.

We had a terrific weekend, crazy but lovely.

On Friday we had a fantastic gig in Doncaster. The band played really well and there was a great atmosphere. It was a very late night, though, as they didn’t finish packing down until 2am. But it was a goodun.

On Saturday I made it to the Leeds write-in to join in with this November’s NaNoWriMo. I met a few new people and it was nice to see some old faces. And I got a few words written too. While I was NaNo-ing, the poet and Rufus were having a wonderful time walking and watching telly and chomping chews … the latter being the dog rather than the man … Saturday evening we were visiting and shopping, and finally arrived home at 9pm.

I went to Leeds on the train from a different railway station. The ticket is cheaper, by about £2, and the journey is slightly slower, with just one train an hour, but the station is closer to the house and I was able to cadge a lift. When we got there we were surprised to see the once-vacant and derelict railway buildings back in use. I did a bit of research and discovered that a café has been allowed to lease the buildings and I thought that was a great idea. All unmanned stations should consider doing that.

On Sunday, the poet went fishing – and came third, well done, sweetheart 🙂  – and I had a really lazy day catching up on sleep (I did quite a lot of overtime last week) and recorded television. Then on Sunday evening we went out to see a new band for both of us, but made it home again by 9pm.

Today I’ve started the week afresh and tried to do everything scheduled in the diary. On Friday I started to surf the job boards again, rewrote my blurb and pitched for 14 jobs. Today I pitched for a further 6 jobs, and I’ve already written the walks report, which was lagging behind due to me being without computer or internet.

I have 2 books to edit, both non-fictions, and I’m in correspondence with the author of the historical fiction I filed last week.

I have a full working week this week so intend to get a lot shifted. I’d best get on …

4 thoughts on “Crazy weekend

  1. Good to see you’re still busy – and doing Nano, which I have failed from day 2! 🙂 Your pic of your office has inspired me – a while ago we moved everything round and my desk (a corner one like yours) and all my paraphernalia ended up in a dark corner of the bedroom where I never use it, and where I can’t escape from the thought that the laundry basket’s only a few metres away in the ensuite and I could do some hoovering..etc. As of last week, the room that used to be my office is spare again but full of things that are temporarily homeless (until the kids/we decide where to store them, or to sling them). I haven’t had the omph to get it sorted and get my desk back in there (and can’t physically do it myself anyway, because I have a hiatus hernia at the mo!), but your pic has inspired me to get everyone else on board and get the room cleared. Now I freelance full time, I really need my own space!

    Like

    • NaNo may not be lasting much longer, I’m afraid. I really am very far behind. But, we shall see.

      Good luck with the new work space – glad to have been an inspiration. Oh, and let me know how it comes along. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.