Okay, I’m updating the blog … (and a list alert)

020Meet our tree topper. He comes out every year, so this is an old photo, but I didn’t have anything as festive more recently, so I’ve wheeled him out again. Isn’t he great?

Well, it’s been a busy old week with me pitching for jobs quite furiously and winning quite a high return too. But then I suppose that’s the way it goes – speculate to accumulate.

I’ve been finishing off a couple of outstanding jobs, mostly electronic edits, and I’ve been doing this new work as it’s come in.

The faint-hearted may wish to look away now …

As of today I have:

  • one more set of electronic edits to complete
  • some authors to re-email
  • 2 books to send to the typesetter (I won’t wait now for author responses as there’re hardly any changes)
  • an update to send to lovely already boss
  • a new project to collate and start editing
  • the gig list to update
  • more jobs to look for and pitch for

And that’s just work. At home we have:

  • Christmas shopping (for gifts)
  • wrapping of said gifts
  • mince pies to bake
  • festive biscuits (cookies) to bake
  • a yule log to bake and ice
  • the Christmas cake to ice
  • the Santa run to Birmingham
  • Santa run to Leicester
  • a Santa run to Doncaster
  • Christmas grocery shopping to do
  • Christmas dinner to cook (and eat)

But wait, there’s more. We have a social life too:

  • yesterday we went to see Roy Wood at Holmfirth Picturedrome
  • on Saturday we go to Wolverhampton Civic Hall to see Thunder
  • (Saturday night/Sunday morning we incorporate the Santa run to the Midlands)
  • Christmas Day on our own
  • Boxing Day we go to see some friends of ours play their last ever gig in their band
  • at the end of the week we hope to nip to London

This has to be my busiest Christmas schedule in a long while. Fortunately we have 2 weeks’ holiday, although with one of the jobs I’m about to start I’ll probably have a bit of a dabble in that too, as and when.

Roy Wood was absolutely fantastic, he really was. I’ve known the man all my life but never managed to see him, and we nearly didn’t this time either, as they sold out of tickets very quickly. The poet, though, bless him, made a special trip to Holmfirth yesterday to see if any tickets had been returned – and they had. And so we did go to the ball after all.

We also wanted to see the support band, Slyde Alive, as a few of our friends are in that band. We got drenched as the average rainfall for a whole year descended on Holmfirth in the half-hour we were walking from the car to the venue. But we had a really good time, met up with some friends, and are determined to go again next year.

Thunder is a Christmas present to the 2 of us from the gig buddy and her bloke. It will give us the opportunity to also visit my family in the Midlands, and we’re staying with my parents Saturday night. Sunday morning it’s off to my sister’s before heading back.

We’ll pop over to Doncaster to see the poet’s family, but our first Christmas together is going to be a quiet time.

I probably won’t get chance to post again, so tell me what your plans are over the festive period and then make sure you have a goodun.

Happy Christmas! šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Okay, I’m updating the blog … (and a list alert)

Comments are closed.