Welcome to Abbey Road …

P1030527Blimey, it’s not long after 9am and here I am writing a blog post already. This is mostly because I could hardly wait to get into my office this morning, which is mostly because the office is finally here.

We had a very busy Saturday, first emptying what the poet has always called the studio, and then giving it a good dust and a Hoover. (Note: He did the Hoovering …) Then we went over to the other house to empty drawers and cupboards and dismantle the entire office.

It’s a job I always dread because it’s made up of modules built from solid wood with beech veneers. It’s very heavy, and some items are very awkward. We had a narrow, steep flight of stairs to carry it all down at one end, and then another flight of stairs to carry it all up at the other end.

P1030531BUT he was like a pig in muck once he got his tools out (all one of it – a Phillips screwdriver was all he needed and he’d fetched his entire toolkit), and before long we had both cars loaded with bits of office and were headed back over the common.

It was nice to have an empty room to work with and quicker than it came down the office went back up again, and by early evening we’d moved all of the studio back in too.

P1030536We both still have loads of stuff to go through, piles of paperwork, things that need to be “filed” (in more ways than one). But the main thing is that I’m no longer camping out on the kitchen table and we can both work in the room together.

In the picture to the left you can see a chest of drawers in the bottom left-hand corner. This is filled with art supplies and photography equipment. Just above it, on the desk, is a canvas on an easel waiting to be painted on. Yes, the poet’s an artist as well. The rest of the picture is office furniture and equipment, and the current editing WIP is in a folder to the right of the laptop, which is on a riser. To the right of the desk you can just see one of the poet’s 7 guitars.

P1030537In the picture to the right you can see the poet’s studio and 2 more of his guitars. Another 2 are in cases ready to go to the next gig … or maybe not unpacked yet from the last gig … He has 2 laptops here, soon to be 3, and several mixing desks/stations, and he has 2 keyboards.

The keyboard on the bottom is ace. The keys light up and if you hit them in the right order you can play a tune, complete with chords. That’s my kind of keyboard.

P1030535Finally, for now, I’ve included a picture of the view from my desk. I’ve wanted a window for so long and now we have one each. There’s a single red rose to the left of the windowsill, bought for me by the poet Friday night, and my old office clock in the middle.

The room is a smashing size and shape, but we’re not sure what to call it. It gets referred to as the studio, the office, the music room, the creative room. The poor thing needs an identity, so maybe we’ll just call it Abbey Road.

I’d love to write more but I have work to do – a diary to update, books to edit, stories to write. So I’ll leave you with these pictures for now. Enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Abbey Road …

  1. I have the same modular furniture and I can confirm – it is blooming heavy! Unfortunately, I can’t have my desk as close to a window as yours is 😦 Lovely office though. Enjoy!

    Like

    1. Thank you. 🙂 This furniture has followed me around for a lot of years, through several houses and across more than one county. It’s the best office furniture I’ve ever had – and you’d probably agree. But it is heavy!

      Like

Comments are closed.