All gone by in a whirl …

Oh, it’s been a busy few weeks here in Baggins Bottom.

First of all we had the publication of Horror 101, an anthology of advice for writers. Hot on the heels of that news came the suggestion that it may become a paperback in the future too, it’s done so well already.

Also during that week I had to empty my house pretty sharpish as I had a tenant waiting to move in … and then I had another tenant snapping at the door … and then another … Many of the evenings were spent packing boxes and dismantling furniture. On Saturday the poet’s eldest came to help us move the furniture and that took out the entire day.

I also had several errands to run: to collect my will, because the solicitor it was with doesn’t do wills any more; to get a copy of my decree absolute from Rotherham County Court, because after packing down the house I couldn’t find my original; to tax my car; to get the flea treatments for all 3 pets for the next 3 months; to bank the first of the rent money; and to have the car washed.

On the Friday night the poet’s son joined us for a gig in Doncaster.

We were supposed to be going camping and had tested one tent only to find it was leaking. Very badly. So we went and got another, took the old tent down, and pitched the new tent to test that. It didn’t leak, but we didn’t go camping because, in the end, the poet wasn’t very well. Instead we spent the past few days rearranging what furniture of mine we’re keeping with what furniture of his we’re keeping so it all melds together nicely.

And it does. The house is lovely now. I’m surrounded by many of my own things, which are now our things, but we do have a garage of boxes to go through, and we still have the loft to empty at the other house.

We finally made it out for an afternoon yesterday, fishing. Well, the poet fished; I sat in the shade getting lots of fresh air and doing absolutely nothing.

Hopefully, the next weekend where we have neither gigs to attend nor visits booked in, we’ll try the camping again … at the moment that looks like the end of June …

Today, then, and yesterday evening, we both updated the gig list. I have an email to send to an author with responses to some of his questions. And I have a new non-fiction to start editing.

Here are some of our fishing photographs to keep you entertained:

Mute Swans. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
Mute Swans. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
Mute Swan. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
Mute Swan. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
Mute Swan nicking pellets. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
Mute Swan nicking pellets. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
I had such a busy day ... (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)
I had such a busy day … (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)
But he did catch a few ... (Picture: Diane Parkin)
But he did catch a few … (Picture: Diane Parkin)
4 thoughts on “All gone by in a whirl …

  1. That sounds hectic. It must be something in the air; I don’t think I’ve ever longed for a summer holiday so much, life’s been nuts. Now this: ‘I sat in the shade getting lots of fresh air and doing absolutely nothing’ sounds idyllic to me… let me just imagine I’m there for a minute! Hate to upset the poet, but someone should tell him that those big white things on the water aren’t fish 🙂
    I was teaching in preschool today and it was so wet on the field outside that a couple of ducks had come up from the village pond to visit, much to the delight of the children 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.