More reading fodder

So yesterday I was all set to surf the job boards, bid for some work, edit a book. But as usual, it didn’t get very far.

The book I couldn’t edit yet because I was awaiting a reply from an email sent last Friday. That email finally arrived overnight last night, but today is already full so I’ll have to reschedule that one for Monday.

I got as far as my record of jobs bid for and could hardly believe my eyes at one I’d lost. Not because I’d lost it – that’s their prerogative and their loss. No, I was astonished because this was a 9-week job, of solid editing work, and the person who’d won the job had bid just $153. That’s £91. For 9 weeks work. And the job site fee had to come out of that too. And exchange commission if the contractor wasn’t in America.

That is ridiculous, and I hope they both – the client and the contractor – are ashamed of themselves.

How can anyone expect a quality job for just 10 quid a week? (Minus fees and commission.)

So, moving swiftly on, and totally disgusted, I closed the site down, closed the internet down, closed the computer down, and went to the literary festival in Doncaster for solace.

The person I was specifically going to see was Michael Fowler, a Twitter buddy of mine who is also the father of the lovely young police officer who looked after me during my Pervy Nextdoor Man episodes. He also writes crime fiction and has done, successfully, since 2010. Co-presenting the event was Moth competition winner Rebecca Muddiman. The two of them read from their work and then led an informal chat. It was very interesting and I came away with a book each – Heart of the Demon and Stolen respectively.

So that’s 4 new books on the bookshelves when we haven’t really sorted out what’s in boxes in the garage. But hey, who cares? It’s what we do, right?

Today, then, I will be bidding for work again. I’d like to do some writing. I’ll be reading something or other. And then I’m going shopping. We have a gig this evening in Doncaster, I’m probably going to Leeds tomorrow for the write-in, we have a gig tomorrow night, and the poet’s off fishing (hopefully) on Sunday. So I may get chance to do some more of my own writing then too.

Over on Facebook I shared this picture:

books

And it’s started some discussion on how tidy the books are in the picture. I arrange my books (when they’re not in boxes in the garage) in alphabetical order by author and then chronological order by book. How do you arrange yours?

Have a great weekend.

9 thoughts on “More reading fodder

  1. The fact that someone would agree to 9 weeks’ work for that low amount of money is even worse than the idiot who only wants to pay it. If the person advertising the job feels his work is worth so little, I wouldn’t even want to pitch for the job. And it’s not like someone who’s good at what they do and qualified would agree to work with it. Not even worth the time reading the bid.

    I organize my books in categories, and then alphabetically by author. My office has the non-fiction, and the fiction is scattered throughout the house by category, wherever I can shove in a bookcase.

    I need more shelves, as do most booklovers.

    Like

    1. Yes, my non-fiction – reference, writing guides, directories, etc – goes on bookshelves on the wall in Abbey Road (studio/office). My fiction, when it comes out of the boxes … will go in a tall bookcase that’s also in Abbey Road. I have a lot of both stored on my Kindle now too.

      The client didn’t express a budget, merely “not sure”. But the highest bidder was well over $5,000, so you’d think that would be a bit of a clue …

      Like

  2. I am only marginally more taken aback when people shelve by colour – that’s so wrong 😦 I shelve by genre, and then alphabetical by author. And the genres that my husband doesn’t like are behind the sofa. Hmph.

    Like

    1. I’d expect to see a shelf arranged by colour in a child’s room, but it wouldn’t start any nervous tics or anything. 🙂

      You make me wonder now what the genre is hiding behind the sofa …

      Like

  3. My books are sorted by author and type, but they aren’t in alphabetical order. I still know where to find what I’m looking for though – not that anyone else would make any sense of it 🙂 x

    Like

  4. Have a good weekend. My books are sorted in various ways, some by author , some by genre, some by size and others just piled up. Many are now on kindle. Not sorted any by colour yet…now there’s a thought! 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.