The writing bag

A while ago I mentioned that I have a writing bag. At the time a few people asked for more information, but I’ve been a bit busy moving house, moving office, getting on top of work. So I’ve not had chance to organise the bag properly.

However, on Wednesday, when I took the car in for its MOT, I packed an up-to-date writing bag so that I wasn’t carrying unnecessary stuff.

And here it is:

Bag 2

It’s a little out of focus, but I think you get the picture.

The bag itself is a Penguin book bag I think I bought from the book shop at Sheffield Hallam University not long after I moved to Yorkshire.

The purple A4 folder on the bottom has all of my 2nd and 3rd short-WiP drafts in. The 2nd drafts are in a sprial bound A4 notebook; the 3rd drafts are typed. All are awaiting editing before moving onto the next stage – draft 3 and edit/submit respectively. Currently I have 1 short story waiting to go to market, 3 short stories awaiting electronic correction before they go off to market, 1 RTE awaiting electronic correction before going off to market, and – in the notebook – 1 2nd draft waiting to be typed and 1 2nd draft waiting to be split into 2 separate RTEs and then typing up. I have a similar A4 folder for 2nd and 3rd drafts of the novel, but that one’s pink.

The black leather folder is one of my souvenirs from my days at the National Grid. It’s a conference folder and it usually holds whichever book I’m currently editing. At the moment, that’s a non-fiction book on Ancient Egypt. It also holds a red or a green pen – currently red, felt tip.

The fancy brown and pink, touchy-feely A5 book is the current academic diary, running out at the end of this month. The new one is also A5, but it’s a plain black one.

The 2 fluorescent pink polypropylene shorthand notebooks held together with an elastic band is the first draft of Catch the Rainbow. There are notes in one book, and draft 1 in the other. When I’m working on 1st drafts of short WiP, these are usually fluorescent green polypropylene shorthand notebooks held together with an elastic band. One has outlines in; the other has 1st drafts.

Finally, here is one of my several pencil tins, upside down. This one is Winnie the Pooh, and it says: ‘You’re the Best Bear in All the World.’ It holds a 6″ (15cm) ruler, a mini Bambi stapler, mini Bambi staples, a pencil sharpener, a rubber (eraser), 1 black, 1 blue and 1 green pen, 1 automatic pencil, 1 manual pencil, 1 highlighter pen, and 2 ‘posh’ pens for best.

So, there’s the world famous writing bag of Baggins Bottom. What do you keep in yours? Or what would you, if you had one?

6 thoughts on “The writing bag

  1. Reblogged this on Sleepy Book Dragon and commented:
    In a way, I do have a writing bag. A lot of my writing files are digital and either reside on my laptop or on external hard drives and USB sticks but copies of my university dissertation novella are in folders along with pens in a canvas library bag.
    This is definitely an excellent idea though if you don’t necessarily do your writing at home or are lucky enough to be able to write at work. What do people think? Would you keep a writing bag packed like Diane or is it something you would do if you could?

    Like

    • Thanks for the re-blog. I actually carry the writing bag around the house too – whether I’m in the office, in the living room, in the conservatory, in the garden or in bed! And (psst!) I have a laptop too. 🙂

      Like

      • I can definitely see the advantage of keeping everything together but I doubt it would work for me. I have a little doggie who loves rummaging in bags and shredding whatever paper that is within reach of her.

        Like

  2. Hi Diane, I’m glad it’s not only me who has one of these. I call mine the bagesk, as it’s a desk in a bag. I’ll post a picture on my blog soon and let you see it.

    Like

Comments are closed.