Finally spotted the ISS

We’ve had another very busy weekend.

On Friday I went and got petrol and pet food. I was going to get 2 bags of dog food, but they’ve put the price up by £2 (more than $3) for a 2kg bag and I  only had enough cash on me to buy them at the old price. So I bought a bag of dog food and a bag of cat food, which is cheaper, but was more than a bit disgruntled as that’s quite a hike in price. I won’t be going out of my way there again as there’s no saving now and petrol isn’t free.

We went out Friday night to see a new band to us, The Supermodels, and we thoroughly enjoyed them. There were 6 of them on stage, plus a sound man, and it’s a very tiny stage. Musically and vocally they were perfect, and that many musicians creates a superb wall of sound.

On Saturday we did a big shop and took the dog for a walk around Phoenix Park in Thurnscoe, one of the pit villages we live near. Then Monkey Dust were on in York and we had to head off quite early to get there. It was a nice club, Acorn Rugby Club in Acomb, clean, tidy, nice toilets, etc, and a good springy stage. The band were received well and the pop was cheap.

On Sunday we headed off to see my parents, and on the way home we dropped into Elsecar Heritage Centre for a picnic. It was pouring with rain, though we missed the thunder and lightning, but it was nice to eat our sandwiches surrounded by a pleasant landscape. When we got home we had time for a quick change, and then it was off to see an old favourite band of both of ours, Here’s Jonny.

We had a lot of fun and were still home in time to see the International Space Station – can you see it? 🙂

Picture of the ISS over Pontefract, nicked from the poet. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)
Picture of the ISS over Pontefract, nicked from the poet. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

This is the first time I’ve ever actually seen it as I always keep missing it. I thought it would be bigger, but hey. 🙂

And so to today.

I was promised nice weather and had planned to catch up on some washing, but it’s raining here, the cats have just come running in, and Rufus is barking at a shouty sky. So instead, I’d best do some work.

I have electronic edits to do on a non-fiction, a press release to proofread, and I want to kickstart the short freelance writing. I heard that an ebook publisher is looking for editors, so have been in touch with them. I don’t expect they pay very much, but if you don’t ask … I emptied a box of books, mostly into the bookcase, but into the charity box as well. I also want to check the job boards and have a look at the daily competitions.

And it’s already almost midday.

 

2 thoughts on “Finally spotted the ISS

    1. If you follow the link, I think if you put your location in, it tells you when it’s over yours. Apparently it was orbiting over us last night again.

      Like

Comments are closed.