Yet more busyness

I’ve had some work come in this week, and I have older work awaiting revision review. So yesterday I sat back to consolidate, print out and organise the workload.

And my current editing WiP consists of 7 books altogether.

  • 1 new short edit
  • electronic edits on existing non-fiction #1
  • layout checks on historical fiction
  • 2 new non-fictions to edit
  • and 2 non-fictions to collate author/proofreader revisions

And that’s just the editing.

Yesterday I used more than a ream of paper printing it all out, and the best part of a printer cartridge – I never proclaim to have a paper-free office. It’s the work I do, and the clue’s in the editing books part. They consist of paper.

The new short edit is one I pitched for and won on Wednesday. I also fired off an unsolicited application to that ebook publisher and they replied last night that they’d be in touch in a couple of weeks. This is better than a thanks-but-no-thanks at this stage so I remain optimistic.

This morning already I’ve done the short edit and sent it back to the client, and I’ve done the fiction layout and sent comments back to the client. I’m currently in the midst of those electronic edits but I’ve cleared more than 300 pages today.

I’d like to finish the current electronic edits by the end of today and then be ready to start one of the new edits. If I can do that, I have 3 invoices to raise.

I don’t know what we’re doing tonight but we could do with going shopping. It’s a fishing day tomorrow and I haven’t decided what to do. I can’t go to a write-in as the dog will be too long on his own. So I may work, I may bake, I may read, I may take the dog for a big walk, or I may go to the pictures. Or, I may do diddley squat.

On Sunday we’re visiting both lots of parents while also hoping to get back in good time for an annual fund-raising outdoor festival.

So I’d best crack on.

What are you up to this weekend? Whatever it is, have a goodun.

2 thoughts on “Yet more busyness

  1. Have a good weekend. We may go out tonight to the whitsun band concerts. All the bands march playing and are judged. Lots of ale flowing and good humour. Delph, Diggle and Uppermill are main veiwing areas. The competion was made famous in Brassed Off.
    Busy weekend with family and I really must go and look for new specs. I understand there is a football match on late Saturday.

    Like

    1. Ah yes, I’d forgotten the football match! Sounds like a great evening for you. We just remembered we’re going out in Sheffield this evening after all!

      Like

Comments are closed.