Camp NaNo Day 4

The sharp-eyed will, once again, notice that Baggins Bottom has had another bit of a facelift. Do let me know what you think of it in the comments below. I love the replies because they’re on crinkly paper.

It’s a bit of a flying visit for me today as my workload for the rest of the month just doubled, and we have a week away in the midst of it.

Camp NaNo has been going well for both of us. I haven’t done today’s yet, as I’ve been hanging washing out, emptying/filling the dishwasher, fetching the bins in, running errands – bit of shopping, paying rent money into bank, buying the biggest lemon on the planet – and I have another to go to at 4pm. So work’s being squeezed in between and NaNo will be done this evening again. (Little man will be updated then.)

I’ve been doing credit control this week, and one payment just arrived. Another is still late and has just had another reminder email sent back. The accounts clerk was on holiday until Tuesday, and that gives me 2 reasons to be concerned: 1. It’s a good job she hadn’t gone on holiday for a month; and 2. If she’s been back since Tuesday you’d think I might have had the courtesy of a reply …

Anyway, another invoice is about to go off to the same firm but, with plenty of work also coming in, I may not be able to do any more for them until they’ve paid what they owe. I really am starting to tire of people thinking I don’t need paying for the time and work I put in.

I pitched for a job last week, and apparently narrowly lost out to someone they awarded it to just as my pitch came in. However, that freelance has now taken quite seriously ill (I wish him a speedy recovery, but little wax dolls have come a very long way … 😉 ), how was my schedule fixed, and did I still want it? Naturally I said yes.

With this, a full-length book, and another that came in this week, plus one that came in last week, plus several author/proofreader revisions I need to check, I think that’s just about me done now for the month. Let’s hope they pay me, eh. 🙂

Here’s some feedback I also received: “Great work and fantastic communication. Highly recommended for editing and book writing assistance.” Five stars. 😀

Late this afternoon, then, I’m off for a hair appointment and the poet is helping a work colleague move house this evening, and we have NaNo. Tomorrow I’m not sure what we’re doing, but think it depends on weather and funds. Tomorrow evening we have a gig in Doncaster. And Sunday we’re off to the Tour de France, to watch from a hillside somewhere near Holmfirth. Apparently the roads are expected to be murder, but we have a friend’s drive to leave the car on within walking distance. But if the traffic is too bad, we may just go to the seaside instead.

Y’all have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “Camp NaNo Day 4

  1. Have a good weekend whatever you choose to do. Just been up and over Holme Moss (yet another recce) lots of campers there already, folk trying to put up marquees in wind and rain, never seen so many cars and cyclists before on that narrow road, all doing the same as us. It looks like it will be a great atmosphere. They are forecasting thunder and lightening now!

    Like

    1. Thunder and lightning would be ace, though not, of course, for the cyclists. Or, I suppose, umbrellas. It’s raining here now. Good luck with the throngs up there over the weekend.

      Like

Comments are closed.