Camp NaNo Day 7

We had another great weekend.

I was working overtime on Friday when the poet arrived home from helping a work colleague move house, but he was early enough for us to nip out if we wanted to. So we popped to one of our local working men’s clubs and watched another new band to the pair of us.

Saturday was a busy day. I did some more work, then we went to collect the poet’s mother and visited his daughter in her first home. Son #2 was there too and we sat in the garden chatting and drinking squash, enjoying the sunshine.

He had a gig Saturday night, so we had to go early and get ready for that. He headed off in time to set up, but I caught the train later so the animals weren’t on their own for too long. On the way back we collected my car and we went straight to bed as we had another busy day on Sunday.

Sunday was Day 2 of the Tour de France in Yorkshire, and we drove over to Hade’s Edge where we parked at a friend’s house. Some places were charging £5, £10 and even £15 (apx $8, $17 and $25) just for parking, because the roads into Holmfirth were closed. Then it was a nice, downhill walk into the town.

We were lucky with the weather. It didn’t start to rain until we arrived home. Rufus was quite well-behaved, considering the crowds. He was a little warm, a little excited, a little tetchy, but he didn’t bark very much and we were very proud of him. I was quite proud of myself too at the end of it, because I managed the walk back up the hill, pulled along by the dog a bit, and I detest walking up big hills.

The race was due in Holmfirth at 2:30pm. Then it was 2.40pm. I think it was about 2:45pm by the time they got there, and we felt very proud and privileged to have been part of the 2.5 million visitors to the race over the weekend, apparently the world’s largest sporting event and free of charge.

Here are a few photographs from our visit:

P1030609
This police officer probably received the best cheer he’d ever had. (Pic: Diane Parkin)
P1030624
Here they come … (Pic: Diane Parkin)
P1030627
The Tour de France, Yorkshire, 6 July 2014 (Pic: Diane Parkin)
P1030629
There they go … (Pic: Diane Parkin)
P1030613
My favourite picture of the day. ♥ (Pic: Diane Parkin)

I didn’t manage to do Camp NaNo for Friday until Saturday morning, and I did it sat up in bed while the poet made and fetched me a bacon sandwich. I can’t remember the last time I had breakfast in bed, let alone made for me. That was a nice treat.

Saturday evening, after he’d gone to his gig, I settled down for an hour and I managed Camp NaNo for Saturday. So I did none on Friday, two on Saturday and, erm, none on Sunday. So today’s will be yesterday’s and, if I get chance, I’ll do today’s as well.

I’ll update little man as I go along.

This week I have a lot of work to get through before we start our holiday on Saturday. I have 3 books to do – 2 editing, 1 proofreading – as well as Camp NaNo and prep for the holiday, and will probably be on overtime.

