Hey you! Yes, you at the back! Say hello!

I have no idea why, but Wednesday’s post seems to have been more popular than some of the previous ones as it was possibly shared and re-tweeted much more than any of my posts have ever been shared before. So, all you people at the back, before you read any further, nip on down to the bottom and say hi. No need to be shy, we’re very friendly here.

Have you done it? Go on, I’ll wait …

# tum ti tum ti tum ti tum …

Done it? There now, that didn’t hurt, did it?

So, what have I been up to this week?

Well, so far, without counting today, I’ve pitched for 24 new proofreading or editing jobs, including several regular gigs. I’ve also caught up a bit on the non-fiction editing – I’ve done author and proofreader revisions on a non-fiction book, I’ve edited an essay and I’ve been reviewing another non-fiction book that needed additional work doing to it.

I’ve written the walks report and submitted it to 6 local newspapers, and liaised with a couple of said newspapers, and I’ve caught up on the daily competitions. I’ve also been doing my own writer’s boot camp. I’m working on 5 short stories and have a couple of 1st drafts I want to have a look at.

And a big job I did yesterday was my first critical data backup in 9 months … I’ve done a lot of work in that 9 months, it would be awful if the computer crashed and I lost it all. That took a little longer than intended as it involved tidying up the hard drive anyway to make sure I wasn’t copying any duplicates or anything that really isn’t needed any more.

As part of that backup I found a load of old ebooks that I’ve not been able to read anywhere due to the archaic format. But I think I’ve managed to transfer the majority of those to my new Kindle Paperwhite. They’re all saved on there as “personal”, and if I delete them from the home page they also go from the collection(s) I put them in. But I think I can at least read them.

There are a couple of old magazines on there I’d like to read, Alfred Hitchcock and Ellery Queen. I might try those first.

I still have today’s chores to do – daily competitions, surf for more work and pitch if necessary, invoices to raise (hurrah!), the notes section of a non-fiction to read through, today’s boot camp. And I think I have a hair appointment at 5pm-ish.

We’re having a bit of personal upheaval over the coming 4 weeks, so this weekend the poet and I are having some quality time together. I think we’re going fishing tomorrow, and we may go to the pictures on Sunday. We also have to head over to the other house to inspect it for new tenants and change the locks, but we may do that this evening.

So, y’all have a great weekend – tell us what you’re up to – and I’ll see you on Monday. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Hey you! Yes, you at the back! Say hello!

  1. Hello! 🙂
    Just back from our holidays in Skye. You made me miss Dent so much that on the way home we went to Dent for lunch (Meadowside Cafe) and a walk up to the Dancing Flags. Didn’t tell the kids we were headed there, so it was a nice surprise for them. Walked past Church Gate cottage (the white one that sits in the corner, just up from the tea room, by the church gate (!)) and was filled with envy and holiday-home-sickness. Wonder what lucky person is staying there this week 🙂
    You sound busy – excellent! I’m waiting for more details on a Chinese memoir a publisher wants me to edit and pitching for non-fic health-related stuff; getting back in the work groove. Both 🙂 and :/ !
    Good point about the back-up (she says guiltily)…

    Like

  2. lwbean

    Hi. 🙂

    Heading to Seaford, Sussex in a few weeks. Can’t wait. It’s just a week, but he’s itching to see the area where he went to school, and I’m itching to be back in southern England. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.