Chilled weekend and a poll

We had a chilled weekend, which after weeks of rushing around and enforced separation was really very nice.

Friday night we didn’t do anything after I collected the poet from the station. Saturday we went shopping during the day, watched a football game during the afternoon (emotive – Birmingham City v Leeds United ended in a 1 – 1 draw, which was handy), and to a comedy club during the evening. We enjoyed that, it made a nice change, and it was good to see a friend I’d not seen in a while.

Sunday we were going to go fishing or walking or something, but we decided to potter in the garden a little (which also required a quick drive to the garden centre first), watch some telly, and have a proper Sunday dinner (roast chicken, cauliflower, broccoli, roast potatoes, boiled new potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, gravy). Then we watched some more telly.

This morning he went off to Scotland again, once I’d taken him to the station, and now I have another week of busyness to keep me occupied.

Poll
I try to cover a lot of things on the blog to maintain interest. It was initially set up to keep in touch with friends and family in the West Midlands when I moved to Yorkshire and quickly became a writing blog. I also cover music news, some personal stuff, tales from our travels, photographs, anything that might make it more interesting.

While I still get hundreds of readers every month, comments have dwindled down to none just recently. And I’m wondering why this is – and whether or not to continue with a public blog or make it a private one.

So, here’s a poll to find out what readers want, and please also leave any pertinent comments in the space below.

Thank you for your participation.

blog thumbnail

4 thoughts on “Chilled weekend and a poll

    1. Yes, I try to remind people to come along and comment on the blog, but it’s so much easier to just reply on FB. I’ve done it myself when the blog hasn’t let me log in, or whatever I’m supposed to do to leave a comment. I try to make it easy for people to leave comments here too, but I know some still have problems.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to bob in and say something – on both posts. 🙂

      Like

  1. As Christine says, everyone gets fewer comment on their blogs these days. Important points end up on FB – I think that’s because they are less public (probably) than the blog. Perhaps if we want to work out if blogs are worth continuing we should be looking at reader/search stats, not comments.

    I ticked ‘leave things as they are’ on your poll, but actually I do sometimes have a problem loading the page if there are a lot of photos on a post. But then I have snail-pace broadband and my experience won’t be typical.

    And I’m sure we’d all be interested in anything you want to write about your *huge* list of writing projects!

    Like

    1. Thank you. I’ve often wondered about the photographs taking time to load, and have tried to include fewer per post in order to get around that. Over on Blogger I was able to add a slideshow and a link, but I don’t keep pictures on a picture hosting site any more, and I’m still finding my way around WordPress and what we can or can’t do – WP doesn’t like flash player, so that limits things a lot.

      I can see the stats, and I’ve added tags to see who comes in on those. But often it’s just a straight link straight to the whole blog, or a specific link from Twitter or FB.

      If one person has a problem loading pictures, then that’s one problem enough. I’ll look into hosting them on a picture site again. Meanwhile, though, I may just reduce them or make them smaller. Let me know if that helps, yeah? 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.