Busy day tomorrow

As I have quite a busy day coming up tomorrow, I’ve decided to do some of tomorrow’s chores and jobs today, including this blog post.

First thing in the morning I have to take the dog back to the vet. He seems to have had a nail-bed infection and all of his tablets, anti-inflammatory and antibiotic, run out today. The toe itself looks a lot better than it did, although at first it didn’t look like anything and I didn’t know why he was limping. The infection flared up a couple of days after I initially took him to the vet and we had to make sure it wasn’t a grass seed that had burrowed under his skin.

The next job tomorrow is another of those admin jobs – tax myΒ car. If I can do it online, I will. But now the laws have changed regarding displaying a valid tax disc, it’s all going to be all different on there now, and I may end up having to go to the post office to do it.

I’ll be picking the poet up at teatime, which means my working day finishes at 3:45pm instead of 5 – 5:30pm. When we move house the railway stations we can choose from should be much closer and when I have to play taxi-driver again, it won’t take such a huge chunk out of either end of my working day.

It’s our friends’ 1st wedding anniversary on Saturday, so we’ll be delivering a greetings card. And, if the poet’s train isn’t delayed, there’s a gig we fancy going to Friday night at our most local working man’s club before it’s no longer our most local any more.

In between all of that, I also have work to do.

Today I have electronic edits to do before sending the edited Word file back to the author for him to answer queries and questions. And I have diary work to do.

Yesterday I was asked if I could do another big editing job, but that hasn’t come in yet. So the next job on the list is another Great War book, another biggie. Today or tomorrow I’ll be printing off the next editing job so it can go into my editing folder.

On Saturday I want to go to the 1st Leeds write-in for NaNoWriMo 2014, but they’ve changed the times from 1pm – 3pm (core) to 2pm – 4pm. The later start means a longer lie in, but it also means a later finish, which for me means I’ll be coming into the home railway station at 5:20pm. So the jury’s still out on that one for now, even though I’ve so far said that I’m going.

Saturday evening I quite fancy a bonfire and fireworks display. We missed Bonfire Night last year so I was promised one this year, and we have 2 to choose from. The first one is Saturday night, a paid one, but in our new closest town (after 28 November). The other one is on Bonfire Night itself, next Wednesday, and it’s free, and in our current closest town. BUT … the poet’s off to Scotland again on Monday and it depends what time he gets back Wednesday evening. I think I need to “cash in” the promise on Saturday in case he doesn’t make it for next Wednesday. πŸ˜‰

Sunday, for the most part, will be chill time or packing time. NaNo will have also started, so I’ll also need to write 1,667 words for that.

What are you up to over the next few days?

bonfire night plus 1 013
One I made earlier, in 2008, at the “current local town” bonfire and fireworks display. (Picture: Diane Parkin)
8 thoughts on “Busy day tomorrow

  1. The weekend for me is a ‘knit in’ making scarves for our local street people for the coming winter. Samhain tomorrow – a biggie in the pagan calendar. Im out for a nice lunch and reflective time with my long suffering hubby – Sunday….Im hoping its a day of rest! I forgot about bonfire night – luckily the dog is already on medication (herbal from the vet) to start the calming process.

    Hope your weekend turns out well πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. What a lovely idea. When we finally get settled, I may do something like knit scarves for the homeless. Or, if I ever master socks, they may get socks!

    Like

  3. Sounds like a busy time πŸ™‚ I too missed the fireworks last year and like you, I’m determined to see some this year. We’re within reach of Kimbolton Castles’s display by the famous Kimbolton Fireworks (well they’re the only firework manufacturer in the UK!), so that’s tempting, but it’s Β£10 *each* for me, DH and DD although DS is free. Ouch.
    I’ve just finished a batch of articles (plus shorter versions for syndication), which is ideal as the editor authorises invoices on the 3rd. So money on Monday! Health column articles aren’t due now until mid December (I do them in quarterly batches), but I’ve only got one topic agreed – so need to generate ideas for those and pitch other topical articles too, as she often takes a few of those as well.
    Two regular editing contracts I was happy to get seem to be smoke and mirrors. I’m not getting work from either and pay seems strangely absent as well. This is the first problem of this type I’ve had, yet one’s with a company taking employees to Venice for their Christmas ‘do’ and the other’s with a company owned by an ex-millionaire. He’s certainly not going to make *me* one, at this rate. I’m also still waiting on a memoir a publisher’s asked me to edit, but the author seems reluctant to let the book go.
    So now I’ve got an unexpected lull, I’m pondering: to nano or not to nano? Of course I’ll need to pitch for more work to keep the pennies coming in too, if these contracts are as bust as they seem to be. (Which reminds me – I was going to ask if you find any job board in particular better for editing jobs? – feel free to ping me a msg via twitter/my email/my site if you’d rather not answer ‘live’ πŸ™‚ )

    Like

  4. You are certainly living life to the full, Diane. Good for you! I have just filled a bowl of sweets for the trick or treaters that will undoubtedly be banging on the door as soon as it gets dark this evening. Then tomorrow I am working on an advert to put in the papers for a new intake of pupils (ESL) in January (that’ll take 15 minutes max) then continuing to edit and re-write my first novel. The plan is to start sending it out to agents by the end of the year. I’ve yet to write the synopsis – keep putting that off. Then I have two short stories on the go which I aim to complete by Sunday evening. In addition, cooking cleaning, scraping up the leaves in the garden and opening a bottle of wine that I promised myself ages ago.
    Have a lovely weekend and lots of fun with NaNo.

    Like

    1. Hello to you and welcome, and thank for taking the time to drop by and leave a comment.

      You look just as busy as I am. I’m going to add your blog to the blog roll, if that’s ok. πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.