NaNoWriMo 2014 Day Three

We had a lovely relaxing weekend, for a change … well, apart from the poet pulling his back while packing to come home Friday morning. That wasn’t very relaxing, but he just wanted to get home.

The traffic was very bad in Doncaster when I went to pick him up, so because of that he chose to drive home as he knows the streets quite well and could make snap decisions depending on the traffic ahead. Sitting in the car seat gave him his first relief with the back pain, so that was useful.

We had a quick tea, got ready and went out to see a band we haven’t seen before at our soon-to-be ex-most-local working man’s club. The band was quite good, but sitting on the hard chairs wasn’t, so we came home not long after the second set had started.

On Saturday we had a lazy start but did manage the shopping. We also had some terrific news. Those competitions I insist on doing every day? I won Take a Break’s Big Relax cash competition. The money will pay for much of the wedding, and as soon as it comes in we’re getting the wedding rings.

On Saturday evening we headed over to our soon-to-be new neighbourhood to join the local Round Table’s fundraising bonfire and fireworks display. It was too busy for us to get anything to eat, but we got there just in time to see them light the bonfire and we enjoyed all of the fireworks display.

The pictures aren’t great (apart from the first one), but they give a feel of the evening.

Ian n Diane
I love this picture of Ian.
P1030877
We got there just in time to watch them light the bonfire.
P1030884
Ian watching the fire.
P1030904
Fireworks.
P1030914
Fireworks.
P1030974
Fireworks.

I love Bonfire Night and we should have gone to an organised event last year, but we couldn’t afford it. We were determined to go to at least one event this year and, if he gets back on time on Wednesday, we may manage another.

On Sunday we didn’t do a thing. Well, we did, actually, but we were so chilled and relaxed about it that the batteries really were recharged. While the poet pushed a vacuum cleaner around (I don’t do vacuum cleaners …) I went through the food cupboard and chucked out all the out of date stuff. I’m determined not to take any old or opened foodstuffs to the new house with us as we’re not sure how much kitchen storage we have there.

After he pushed Henry around, the poet also made bread. Then we had an hour in Abbey Road – him in the recording studio and me doing NaNo.

This morning I dropped him off at the station again and when I got back I did my daily competitions (!) and then I turned some author revisions around so another book can go off to print.

Over the weekend I won 3 new jobs as well as the big one that I heard about last week. All of those jobs are now in and I’m going to do the smallest of those this afternoon. I’ve already done today’s NaNoWriMo and am feeling quite chuffed with myself.

I now have a very busy week ahead with all of this new work on top of the existing work. I’d best crack on.

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014 Day Three

    1. He’s back on Wednesday this week (and next), and if he gets back in time, and feels like it, we have a selection of free and local events to go to as well as a few a bit farther afield. I don’t think he’ll be back in time to travel too far a distance, to be honest, but you never know … 😉 x

      Like

Comments are closed.