A woodpecker on his nuts

So we seem to be finally settling, despite having a busy weekend and me having a shocking cold that almost completely debilitated me Friday/Saturday. It seems as though the poet may be getting this now – we do like to share so many things …

Friday was busy because he had a gig over in Doncaster and it took us 40 minutes to get there. Friday night gigs don’t give him much time to get ready when he’s been at work. Driving home in the early hours we saw our first hard frost of the winter and half-expected snow over the weekend.

On Saturday he cleaned windows and we went shopping – household and DIY shopping. We also had our first pair of woodpeckers in the garden, following a nuthatch the day before. The poet was quite chuffed, saying he’d never had a woodpecker on his nuts before … or, for that matter, a nuthatch. I, of course, have had both. 🙂 On Saturday night he had another gig, this time over towards Pontefract. That took us 40 minutes to get to too.

On Sunday he put up shelves (having first adapted them to fit the space) and 2 guitar brackets, Hoovered the stairs, baked bread, and slow-cooked us a lovely lamb dinner – he even made the mint sauce himself. I either worked on a book or put things on shelves and emptied more boxes. Here is how those shelves in the office are starting to look (I’ll share pictures of the studio when he’s more settled up there):

20141208_105928

Both Rufus and Domino are in this picture …

The bread he baked was our first ever sour dough bread, and we weren’t sure what to eat with it or on it. We tasted it warm and dripping with butter and I, personally, think that’s fine. But he’s made sandwiches with it too, and he says that’s fine as well.

We spent some time at the living room window, watching the birds on the table, and looking for the woodpeckers again, when a pheasant bobbed over the fence and came to see what we were feeding everyone. This was a first for both of us. Apparently pheasants like nuts but they need to be ground so they don’t choke on them (thank you, Susan).

Both days we intended on going for our first walk in the area, but I wasn’t really up to it on Saturday, and we ran out of daylight and clement weather on Sunday – and yes, we did see flurries of snow. That wasn’t what put us off, it was the squally showers in between the flurries that we didn’t want to be out in.

During Sunday I was editing one of my big projects in between putting things on shelves and helping where I wouldn’t be a hindrance. I still have that book to finish then I have another that’s due back on Friday. I also have 2 books in now that need checking. I have most of my work stuff around me now and hope to get into a routine again this week.

Keep everything crossed.

6 thoughts on “A woodpecker on his nuts

  1. Jackie

    So lovely to read how settled you both are and your new home looks idyllic. Had to smile about the references to nuts, though. Two of my kittens will be losing theirs on Friday. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.