Facelift

blue tit 2
Blue tit. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

Every year the blog gets a bit of a facelift, and the eagle-eyed may notice that it’s happened again. I hope you like it, but do welcome feedback. Please let me know what you think about the new layout, what you like about it and what you dislike about it. Ta muchly. 🙂

My normal week has been very, well, normal. And I’ve actually managed to get a good bit done. My editing output has slowed down a little, but my own writing has increased. This is going in the right direction, yes?

On Monday we did have a carpenter come to plane and rehang 6 doors, but he arrived early and was gone before dinnertime. The poet also had to drive over to Manchester and was quite surprised at the difference in weather on the “other side of hill”. On Tuesday I did have to go back and have one of my blood tests done again as they’d apparently lost it at the lab. But these are regular blood tests and they’ve not called me back yet … On Wednesday we had a terrific dump of snow, which was great for me, but the poet had to abandon another trip across the Pennines and go into the local office. There had also been an accident so he was very, very late. Yesterday he was back there again, and he’s gone again today. But apart from all of that, it’s been a relatively normal week.

blue tit 1
Blue tit. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

I’ve had a very productive week workwise.

On Monday I worked on Baggins Bottom Best Bits Book 2 and I collated several lots of writers’ guidelines for potential pitching/submitting. On Tuesday I started to write a new book and managed almost 2,000 words and pretty much the book’s structure. On Wednesday I wrote another 1,400+ words for the new book and I electronically edited 30 pages of the current client job. On Thursday the blog had its facelift, and I also managed another 500 words (nearly) on the new book and another 15 pages on the client job. I’ve surfed the job boards as well this week, but nothing took my fancy.

Today, then, I want to finish the electronic edits and get that book sent back to the author for query responses. I’d also like to write a bit more of the book and see how close I can get to 5,000 words. At 4:15pm I have a hair appointment, so that means I finish work today at 3:30pm.

On Wednesday I received the news that we’re completing on the other house sale next Friday. That means this weekend we have to clear the garage of stuff we know is destined for either the tip or the charity shops and empty the loft over there and fetch anything back that we’re keeping. Apart from that I don’t think we have any other plans for this weekend, so we’ll, once again, suck it and see how we feel.

blue tit 3
Cheeky chops. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

The poet may want to have a play with his new toy. Do you like it? It’s a dSLR camera and these wonderful blue tit shots were the first he ever took when his new zoom lens arrived.

He’s a little disappointed that they’re a bit blurred, but he’s already learned how to combat that and more examples will follow. They’re so lovely, though, I thought some of you may like to see them.

Have a great weekend.

2 thoughts on “Facelift

  1. Great new look, Diane. Bright and perky 🙂 I’m not a fan of bird pictures but that’s just me. . A childhood fear has continually haunted me after I was attacked by a gaggle of canadian geese when I was about four years old. I suppose I should just get over it 🙂 Wishing you lots of fun with the packing – don’t forget to shed all of the stuff that you haven’t used in years. No point in taking it to clutter up the new place 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback. I’m afraid there will be a few more pictures of birds while he’s learning how to use his new camera. Perhaps it will be therapeutic for you. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.