And then there were curtains

20150202_105527I had one request at the weekend, and it was for curtains in Abbey Road. My wish being his every command, ta-daa! We have curtains. You can’t see them very well in this picture because, well, Holly seems to be stealing all of the limelight. But they’re there and they came all the way from my last house in Solihull before moving to Yorkshire 11 years ago. The gig buddy adapted them to fit here as well as another matching pair in our spare bedroom. They’re cream and they’re embossed, and we even have some spare curtain left over.

There was a slight delay in putting these up because the pole had fallen down and we needed a slightly longer one anyway. They’ve been waiting to go up for weeks, and we also put one up on the landing that matches the living room curtains. That one needed the pole refixing too, but it’s also awkward in that it needed ladders to get to it.

And I got my curtains despite the poet not feeling very bright at all. We thought he had manflu, but it’s clear now that it’s an abscess under one of his teeth. We had to take my car to be serviced this morning and on the way back we nipped to the dentist to book him an emergency appointment. As luck would have it, one appointment had failed to turn up, so the poet saw the dentist straight away. He has antibiotics now and has to go back next week, probably to have another extraction. That’s 2 in almost as many months. He’s a braver soul than me.

On Thursday I’d ordered a squirrel-proof nut feeder for the garden, a 4-perch seed feeder and some nuts. This was my first order with the Garden Bird & Wildlife Company and I didn’t pay for delivery. Friday afternoon, my delivery arrived – excellent service – and by teatime the birds were happily munching away without fear of having all their nuts stolen.

On Friday I took advantage of Amazon’s current 3-for-£10 offer and bought the next 3 Game of Thrones books. Because my order now came to £10, I was also able to ask for free standard delivery. So I lumped in another book I wanted to buy that only came to £9.35, on which I was loathe to pay delivery when I was only pennies away from the £10 free delivery thing. And those books all arrived yesterday afternoon – and a Sunday to boot. Excellent service once again.

Also last week, I registered us for our first organic veg box delivery scheme and a few people warned us that the company I’d chosen can be inflexible on the box contents. The poet loves to cook and loves to be challenged, and I like to – where possible – use food when it’s in season. This is because it’s in abundance when it’s in season, it’s usually cheaper, and I believe that food has the necessary nutrients the body needs at the right time of the year. So we weren’t going to be very pernickerty. However, he does have a celery allergy, so I fired off an email to see if we could have celery replaced whenever it’s due in the box. This morning they emailed back to say this was fine and the celery would be replaced with “complimentary item” on our itemised list. Apart from that, we’re more than happy to trial whatever they send us whenever they send it. We’re having a medium veg box and a fruit box.

We were supposed to be going to Birmingham and Doncaster on Saturday, but both of those trips were postponed to next weekend. On Saturday we did nip out to get some anti-inflammatories and a few provisions, but the weekend was spent pretty much indoors. To keep himself busy he swapped over the double light switch at the bottom of the stairs because the wrong switches were connected to the wrong lights (he has had electrical training).

On Saturday night he made us a chicken carbonara for tea, and we had enough to freeze 2 individual portions too. Yesterday I put a malted wheat loaf into the bread machine and he made beefburgers and meatballs. We had the beefburgers for tea with cheese and bread, but the meatballs went in the freezer for another time. But that’s as adventurous as we got.

Today, then, after a late start, I have draft 2 of a short story to write, I want to do a bit more to the ideas book, and then I start the next WW1 edit. We have to go back for my car at about 4:30pm, so that will cut the day short too so, for now, here’s another shot of Abbey Road …

office 01The picture on the right was taken a few weeks ago, just after the noticeboards went up. This is what’s at my back when I work. The big noticeboard is for work-related stuff, the smaller board is a memory board for both of us, and the 2 pictures have followed me from work – the top one from the National Grid and the bottom one from Corus/Tata.

2 thoughts on “And then there were curtains

Comments are closed.