Book giveaway

nightcrawler largeprintI get a lot of hits on this blog every day, and often on days when I haven’t posted anything.

But the number of comments has dwindled significantly to maybe 3 a week if I’m lucky. (And big thanks to all of those who do say something.) So either I’m doing something wrong, or people just aren’t interested in blogs any more.

To those of you who are still interested, I have a book giveaway. It’s a large print edition of Night Crawler.

All you have to do is comment below and answer these three questions:

  1. Where you know me from (online or in real life)
  2. Where you’re based in the world
  3. What you want to see (or don’t want to see) on this blog

All three questions must be answered in order to qualify for the draw, which will take place on my birthday on 9 March 2015.

Thanks for joining in and good luck. 🙂

22 thoughts on “Book giveaway

  1. Eve Mardis

    We met on-line, I just don’t remember exactly where … it’s been at least 9 years. As you know, I’m in “waiting for the snow to get here” Texas. I did try to open my blog again and got nobody … I’ve been told blogging is dead or on it’s last breath unless you’re a big A-list author or there it’s some sort of “specialty” blog (aka Perez Hilton). I don’t know, I wish I had an answer … I miss those days.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Eve. I don’t think it’s dead yet, and I actually think it may be on the way back.

      And what would you like to see from the blog?

      Like

    1. Yes, that’s why I moved from Blogger. Lots of people were struggling to post on there. I try to make it easy for readers to post by not even having a captcha these days. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  2. Yes, commenting can be difficult because some servers stop you, it hsppens a lot to me. That may be part of the problem Diane. I already have the book, someone is in for a real treat.

    Like

  3. Jackie Sayle

    I don’t want to be put into the draw because I already have this book, as you know. We met online, but have talking in ‘real life’ on the ‘phone a few times. I’m a Brummie, like wot you are, and live about 10 miles away ‘over the border’ now. I like the blog as it is, but do understand the dwindling comments thing. It’s happened on my own blog. I wonder if, in your case, it’s because the blog shows up on Facebook and some, like me, read it from there and then just click ‘Like’ or comment on there?

    Like

    1. I can’t get onto your blog, I think we have to “subscribe”? As I say above, I do try to make it easy for folk to comment, but WP doesn’t always let them. 😦

      Like

  4. susie8765

    Susie Kearley, from Buckinghamshire UK, and I know you from a book review you posted on Baggins Bottom! 😀

    Like

    1. I don’t know. When we started, back in 2005, there were often 10, 20, 40 comments. Now we’re lucky to get 3 or 4. Some DO comment on FB instead, and I would prefer it if they did that here. But I like them to do whatever’s easiest, and if WP is making it difficult, perhaps it’s time for another change of platform?

      Like

  5. susie8765

    pps. any chance of sticking the review you put on your blog in January, on Amazon? It’s a bit lacking at the mo! 🙂

    Like

      1. susie8765

        Thanks Diane, You’re a star! 🙂 I have no idea what I’d like to see on blogs really, but it’s always interesting to get snippets of other writers’ lives. What I don’t like is long blogs. Too busy to read them! 🙂

        Like

  6. I don’t think blogging is a waste of time. In fact I’m seriously thinking of starting one…I know I’ve been saying that for years! I do think it brings you to people’s attention and creates more of an interest and a following than fb.

    Like

  7. I don’t want to be entered in the draw (I was just being nosy) but people just don’t comment on blogs much any more (unless there’s a giveaway!) I think it might be partly down to people reading them in blog readers or on their phones/iPads where it’s not easy to comment. I used to get dozens of comments on each post; now if I get just one, I’m grateful!

    Like

    1. Yes, perhaps that’s something the app developers need to consider now they have everything else up and running – ease of interaction. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.