From the farmers’ market this week

P1030990On Friday, at noon, our fruit and veg boxes arrived. In our veg box we had: potatoes; beetroot; carrots; leeks; broccoli; tomatoes; mushrooms (in place of celery due to food allergy); courgettes. And in our fruit box we had: apples; pears; grapefruit; seedless grapes; bananas.

We tend to supplement potatoes and bananas, but the rest of it tends to last until the next box gets here. We do need a crock pot for spud, carrots and other root and tuber vegetables. But, generally, we’re using everything they send us and we have a variety of meals.

As it was the second Sunday of the month, we also nipped along to the farmers’ market at Wentworth. Here again we tend to see what’s in season or on offer, and use that as a basis for our meals and other shopping.

P1030994 This Sunday we bought: water buffalo sausages; water buffalo burgers; a giant Swiss roll; half a dozen pullet eggs; 2 ready made pies; a selection of colourful mushrooms.

I usually just buy closed or open cup mushrooms, button mushrooms and, occasionally, portabello or field mushrooms. So I had no idea what to do with this little lot. They did look pretty in their tray, though.

P1030997 The mushroom lady suggested a giant mushroom omelette, and that’s what I thought we were going to have for tea. But the poet changed his mind, having already promised me rosti potatoes one of the days. So he lightly fried the mushrooms instead.

We tend to use leeks instead of onions, and I suggested he do this for the rostis, which  he did. And I also had to go into the garage to see if I could find the steel pastry cutters, which I did.

P1040001I’ve never had potato rostis before, but from the way he described them, they sounded just like hash brownies. He made us 2 each and they were gorgeous. We’re definitely having those again.

Six bison bangers were baked in the oven to go with the rostis and the shrooms (he had 4, I had 2), and the entire meal was delicious.

We had the giant Swiss roll for pudding … well, not all of it. It usually lasts us a few days at least.

We’ve also been celebrating my birthday this weekend. On Friday evening we went to see Kingsman: The Secret Service and went to Pizza Express for our tea. We love Pizza Express. They’re always very busy, yet the staff are very, very well-trained, always seeing if we’re okay, always checking there’s nothing we need, always quick,always friendly and polite.

We got stuck in traffic going so were a little late, yet Pizza Express got us seated and served almost immediately. We both had their chicken Ceasar salad as it’s scrumptious, but we didn’t have time for pudding. Instead we had popcorn and chocolate in the cinema. We enjoyed the film too. 🙂

Saturday was spent in Birmingham and in Doncaster visiting the parents. We didn’t go out Saturday night as we were glad to be home. And Sunday we were supposed to be going for a walk after the market, but we got distracted instead by the craft village where they have a huge antiques hall. So we had about an hour rummaging around in there.

It doesn’t end there. This evening, after work, we’re off to Mexborough for a Chinese meal, and this coming Saturday we have a football game to go to. We’ve had quite a celebratory fortnight for both of our birthdays. 🙂

This week I have the “big edit” to shift electronically. I did send an email to the client to see if he wanted me to send it to the designer over the weekend, but as he didn’t reply I thought there can’t be the same rush there was. So I’ll take my time and get that gone – today, hopefully.

Last week I left gaps in the diary for editing work, and I’ll fill those in as I go along. I did, however, write in the writing work, study time and a few slots on the gig list. So I’m still, as ever, nicely busy.

P1040005

2 thoughts on “From the farmers’ market this week

Comments are closed.